• Sports News
  • NFL
  • NFL Draft
  • Does a sack count as a tackle for loss? Breakdown of stats
Does a sack count as a tackle for loss? Breakdown of stats

Does a sack count as a tackle for loss? Breakdown of stats

No. A sack does not count as a tackle for loss in professional American football. According to the NFL rule book, a sack and a tackle for loss are two different statistics. This occurs when the quarterback drops back to pass and is tackled by a defensive player behind the line of scrimmage.

On the other hand, a tackle for loss is when a running back, receiver, or quarterback is tackled in the backfield during a running play.


It’s important to note the differences, as each result ends up in a loss of yards. However, they’re recorded differently on the stat sheet.

Do sacks count against rushing yards?

According to the NFL rule book, sacks don't count as negative rushing yards against the QB. They also don't count as negative passing yards against the quarterback.


Be an NFL GM, make draft decisions, and experience the thrill with our NFL Mock Draft Simulator

Fantasy Football D/ST scoring system breakdown


Fantasy football is one of the most enjoyable parts of the NFL season. You can create a fantasy football league and play with friends, family, and colleagues.

However, it is essential to note that some rules govern fantasy football. In this section, we will be breaking down the Defense and Special Teams (D/ST) Scoring System.

First off, it's important to note that in fantasy football, three different groups of players can earn points for a franchise: the offense, special teams, and the defense.

It's not uncommon for fantasy football players to prioritize drafting offensive studs in the early rounds and the other positional groups in the later stages. However, both the defense and special teams could be sneaker point accumulators.


Here's the standard defensive scoring system:

  • 0 Points Allowed = 10 points
  • 14-20 Points Allowed = 2 points
  • 1-6 Points Allowed = 8 points
  • 21-27 Points Allowed = 1 point
  • 28-34 Points Allowed = 0 points
  • 35-41 Points Allowed = -2 points
  • 42 or more Points Allowed = -4 points
  • 7-13 Points Allowed = 6 points
  • Blocked Kick = 2 points
  • Fumble = 1 point
  • Fumble Recovery = 1 point
  • Interception = 2 points
  • Sack = 1 point
  • Safety = 2 points
Expand Tweet

Next up is the individual defensive player scoring system; it goes thus:

  • 2-Point Conversion Return = 2 points
  • Assist on a Tackle = 0.5 point
  • Defensive Touchdown = 6 points
  • Direct Hit on Quarterback = 1 point
  • Fumble Forced = 3 points
  • Fumble Recovered = 3 points
  • Interception = 3 points
  • Pass Defended = 1 point
  • Sack = 2 points (One point for every 10 yards lost)
  • Solo Tackle = 1 point
  • Tackles for a Loss = 1 point

Furthermore, there are points allotted for special teams, such as:

  • FG Made (0-49 yards): 3 points
  • FG Made (50+ yards): 5 points
  • PAT Made: 1 point
Edited by
Deepesh Nair
See more
More from Sportskeeda