Favorites Edit

India-South Africa Test rubber named 'Freedom Series'

444   //    22 Dec 2017, 20:43 IST

Mumbai, Dec 22 (PTI) The upcoming three-Test series between India and hosts South Africa has been named as "Freedom Series."

"This tour was originally labelled the Friendship Series it was South Africa's way of reciprocating India's efforts in ending the country's sporting isolation in 1991.

"India had been among the principal opponents of apartheid. The Freedom Series was felt by both nations to be a be more fitting name in recognition of South Africa's and India's shared history of winning freedom through non-violence, not to mention their shared love of cricket!" said a media release issued by Cricket South Africa.

A specially designed Freedom Series Trophy Podium will also commemorate the landmark series and will be unveiled in a special ceremony ahead of the first Test, commencing in Cape Town on January 5, 2018.

The last two Tests are scheduled to be played at Centurion (from January 13) and Johannesburg (from January 24)

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...