Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Lowest IPL scores for each franchise

A look at some embarrassing lows for IPL teams.

Stats 24 Apr 2017, 14:17 IST

RCB were bowled out for 49, the lowest IPL score of all time

T20 cricket and IPL, in general, has always been about the fancy hundreds or the big team totals or the huge 200+ chases. Rarely have teams folding for low scores been discussed, possibly because the instances have been few and far between. 

Almost every IPL team is a competitive one courtesy the money thrown about in auctions and a large number of available talents across the globe. This has led to fewer collapses and larger 200+ scores than less than 100 totals. 

Here we take a look at the lowest totals registered in the IPL by each team. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad - 113

Sunrisers Hyderabad, the defending champions, registered their lowest score, a paltry 113, against the Mumbai Indians in Hyderabad in 2015. Batting first, Sunrisers lost the plot by slipping to 61/6 and were eventually saved some grace courtesy Lokesh Rahul's 25. However, the previous Hyderabad franchise, Deccan Chargers, have a lower total of 82, when they faced RCB in Mumbai in 2010.

Rising Pune Supergiant - 108

Rising Pune Supergiant hit rock bottom this season when they capitulated to 108 chasing 206 against Delhi in Pune. Sanju Samson's hundred had led Delhi to 205. But Pune barely put up a fight after losing their top 5 for 54. Zaheer Khan and Amit Mishra shared three wickets apiece as Pune registered their lowest score. 

Gujarat Lions - 104

After conceding an embarrassing 248 to Royal Challengers Bangalore, Gujarat Lions slipped to 104 all out in 2016 at the Chinnaswamy stadium. Only three batsmen reached double figures as the Lions looked tired out by the de Villiers-Kohli show in the first innings. Jordan and Chahal shared seven wickets between them.

Kings XI Punjab - 88

Kings XI Punjab succumbed to their lowest ever IPL total of 73 against Rising Pune Supergiant at the Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in the 2015 edition. In a must win match just before the playoffs, Maxwell’s men had no answer to the dominance showed by the Pune bowlers. 

Mumbai Indians - 87

Mumbai were bowled out for a paltry 87 against Kings XI in 2011 at the Mohali cricket stadium. Bhargav Bhatt and Praveen Kumar were wreckers in chief as Mumbai looked clueless in a chase of 164. Not one of their famed batsmen managed to cross 20 as they went on to lose by 76 runs. 

Delhi Daredevils - 80

Delhi Daredevils embarrassed themselves in front of a packed Hyderabad crowd in 2013 when they batted first and were bowled out for 80 in the final over. Runs barely came as Dale Steyn, Thisara Perera and Darren Sammy ran riot with two wickets apiece. Unmukt Chand was the top scorer for Delhi with 17 runs. Sunrisers, in contrast, chased down the score in 14 overs with six wickets to spare. 

Kolkata Knight Riders - 67

In the inaugural edition of the IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders succumbed to their lowest ever IPL score in Mumbai. Batting first, they were undone by the accuracy of Shaun Pollock, who picked up three wickets. Dwyane Bravo and Dominic Thornley shared two apiece as no KKR batsman crossed 15. Mumbai chased down the target within the Powerplay itself much to the embarrassment of KKR. Jayasuriya smashed 48 from 17 balls for Mumbai.

Royal Challengers Bangalore - 49

On April 23, 2017, RCB suffered a humiliating collapse against Kolkata Knight Riders on a relaid pitch. The famed batting line-up consisting of Virat Kohli, Gayle, de Villiers and Kedar Jadhav had no clue against a Kolkata attack comprising of four very good seamers in Nathan Coulter-Nile, Colin de Grandhomme, Chris Woakes and Umesh Yadav. That Sunil Narine wasn't required to bowl shows how poor RCB were. None of their batsmen crossed double figures.

Fetching more content...