⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

2018 Winston-Salem Open

19 Aug 2018 - 25 Aug 2018

The Winston-Salem Open is an annual men’s professional tennis tournament that is played out on outdoor hard courts. True to its name, the tournament is held in the city of Winston-Salem in North Carolina. It belongs to the ATP World Tour in the 250 tier of events. It is the last men’s tournament on the US Open series prior to the US Open.

The tournament was earlier known as the Long Islands tournament, and was inducted into the newly formed Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour in 1990.

Winston Salem Open was purchased in 2005 by the USTA which decided to merge it with the Women’s tournament in New Haven, making it the largest joint ATP-WTA tournament leading to the US Open. However, the men and women’s events were separated in 2011, and the men’s tournament was shifted to the current location of Winston-Salem.

The Winston-Salem Open is sponsored by the likes of BB&T, Flow Auto and Champion, and has seen previous sponsors like Waldbaum's, Norstar Bank etc. The tournament has produced champions like Stefan Edberg, Yevgeniy Kapelnikov, Magnus Norman, Lleyton Hewitt and many others. Ivan Lendl holds the record for most titles, with five titles to his name.

The 2018 Winston-Salem Open will be held from 19th August to 25th August 2018.


The tournament was previously held in Long Island, New York, but was shifted to Winston-Salem after the split in 2011. The tournament is held in the newly designed, state-of-the-art tennis facilities of Wake Forest Tennis Complex in the Wake Forest University.

Prize Money

The 2018 edition of the tournament has a total prize money of $691,415, which will be further distributed according to the stipulations of the ATP regulations.

Defending Champions

The 2017 Winston-Salem Open men’s single title was won by Roberto Bautista Agut of Spain while the doubles champions were Jean-Julien Rojer of Netherlands and Horia Tecau of Romania.

Players to Watch For

World number nine David Goffin of Belgium will be playing in the tournament, along with previous champion Pablo Carreno Busta of Spain who won the title in 2016. The locals will be cheering for Sam Querrey who is ranked 13th in the world, while Australian semi-finalist Hyeon Chung comes back from injury to participate in the tournament and will be the surprise package.

Fetching more content...