Write an Article Live Scores App

Top 5 Twenty20 cricket leagues in the world


Twenty20 cricket made its debut at competition level when the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) introduced the format for professional inter-county matches in 2003. Primarily a 40-over game, it was intended to be a lively format of the game in order to draw in more spectators and generate more television viewers – as a result of which more revenue would be earned.

Known as the shortest cricketing format, T20 was introduced to replace the Benson & Hedges Cup after the tourney ended in 2002. Thousands of fans had been put off by the ‘boring’ longer versions, and needed a fast-paced, exciting form – and the ECB provided it with the Twenty20 Cup, which took off in June 2003.

Since then, the format has spread to the rest of the world – Pakistan established it in 2004, Australia in 2005, and the West Indies regional teams played in the Stanford 20/20 tournament in 2006 (a brainchild of former Texas billionaire Allen Stanford). It has also resulted in the formation of professional T20 leagues all over the world, such as the Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL), the Pakistan Super League (formerly the Faysal Bank T20 Cup) and the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

Here is a list of five of the biggest T20 leagues in the world:

5. Friends Life T20 (England and Wales)

Hampshire v Yorkshire - Friends Life T20 Final

Friends Life T20 of England

Previously known as the Friends Provident T20, this cricket league is the successor to the Twenty20 Cup as the premier domestic competition of England & Wales in the shortest format. It also replaced the Pro40 League, and hosted its first season in 2010.

The league consists of eighteen county teams that play first-class cricket, divided into three divisions of six teams each. Former England players Chris Read, James Foster, Matthew Hoggard and Marcus Trescothick have led some of these teams. The squads can have up to two overseas players – classified as ‘unqualified’ – along with T20 specialists from both England & Wales.

Irish batsman Kevin O’Brien holds the record for the highest individual score in the league, while South African fast bowler Alfonso Thomas has taken the most wickets in a single season.

Page 1 of 5 Next

Baba Aparajith’s blitz seals it for VB Thiruvallur Veerans VB Thiruvallur Veerans won their first match against Karaikudi Kaalai thanks to a captain's knock from Aparajith.
Pakistan batsman Sami Aslam opens up on his admiration for Virat Kohli Promising opener also lavishes praise on Alastair Cook and Joe Root
BCCI allows Duleep Trophy-bound Tamil Nadu players to take part in TNPL During non-match days as well as those who are not picked in the playing eleven can switch to TNPL
Top 5 innings by Tillakaratne Dilshan in Twenty20 Internationals The flamboyant right-hander has had many memorable performances for Sri Lanka in the shortest format.
TN Premier League 2016: Injury rules out two players from the tournament Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings have lost one player each.
TN Premier League 2016: Important to get off to a winning start, says Baba Aparajith Baba played a match-winning knock of 118 runs in 63 deliveries against Karaikudi Kaalai in the league opener
Lyca Kovai Kings bolstered by Murali Vijay’s presence as they face Ruby Kanchi Warriors After an action-packed opener, Chennai plays host to the Lyca Kovai Kings and the Ruby Kanchi Warriors in the third match of TNPL 2016.
India vs West Indies 2016: Factfile - Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Florida Five things to know about the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground in Florida which will host the India-WI T20 series
SK Cricket Olympics: Mohammad Irfan and Ishant Sharma ready to lead the basketball team Cricketers form a dream team to take on the likes of the United States and Spain in basketball.
Pakistan and West Indies set to play historic day-night Test in October Dubai geared up to witness first pink-ball spectacle in Asia.
India vs West Indies 2016: Indian cricketers meet Miami Heat's players India are in the US for a two-match T20 series against the West Indies.
Baba Indrajith ready to lead Ruby Kanchi Warriors challenge Indrajith speaks about captaincy and his side's preparation.
Adam Voges targets a return to form in upcoming Australian summer The middle-order batsman has asked selectors to retain faith despite horror Sri Lanka tour.
Test match batting, the Geoffrey Boycott way The Geoffrey Boycott School of Batting is not about getting bogged down, it is about getting the bowlers bogged down.
Darren Lehmann explains why Steve Smith was pulled out of Sri Lanka tour Australian coach confident of David Warner's leadership qualities.
Sri Lanka vs Australia 2016: Nathan Coulter-Nile ruled out for rest of the tour Australia lost its first Test series to Sri Lanka earlier in the tour
How India and West Indies stand to move in the T20 rankings from the USA series India can move up to be level on points with top ranked New Zealand if they win 2-0.
Twitter reacts as Dilshan announces international retirement Social media reacts to Tillakaratne Dilshan announcing his international retirement.
TNPL 2016: Karaikudi Kaalai vs VB Thiruvallur Veerans VB Thiruvallur Veerans beat Karaikudi Kaalai by 5 wickets.
Murali Vijay to play the first couple of matches in the Tamil Nadu Premier League for the Lyca Kovai Kings The opener hasn't played any matches for a month.
Fetching more content...
Related articles