Favorites Edit

National Sports day awards: Sania Mirza wins Khel Ratna

Rohan Menon
2.42K   //    29 Aug 2015, 21:31 IST
Sania Mirza receives the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna from the president Pranab Mukherjee

Sania Mirza received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for her contribution to the sport of tennis. Mirza is one amongst two tennis players to receive the award, the other player who received the award was Leander Paes. Other players like Jitu Rai received the Arjuna award during the ceremony which was held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. 

While Vishwanathan Anand was the first player to receive the award in 1991-92, Sania Mirza has become the 28th player to have recieved the award.

This year 17 people won the Arjuna Award, and amongst those there were two kabaddi and two wrestling players. The two kabaddi players were Manjeet Chhillar and Abhilasha Mhatre, while in wrestling the two players were Babita and Bajrang.

Among the other awards there were only five players who won the Droncharaya Award, and three players who won the Dhyan Chand Award. 

Award winners in 2015

Sl. No Player Sport Award
1 Sania Mirza Tennis Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna
2 P R Sreejesh Hockey The Arjuna Award
3 Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics The Arjuna Award
4 Jitu Rai  Shooting The Arjuna Award
5 Sandeep Kumar Archery The Arjuna Award
6 Mandeep Jangra Boxing The Arjuna Award
7 Babita  Wrestling The Arjuna Award
8 Bajrang  Wrestling The Arjuna Award
9 Rohit Sharma  Cricket The Arjuna Award
10 K Srikanth Badminton The Arjuna Award
11 Swarn Singh Virk  Rowing The Arjuna Award
12 Satish Sivalingam Weight Lifting The Arjuna Award
13 Santhoi Devi Wushu The Arjuna Award
14 Sharath Gaekwad Para-Sailing The Arjuna Award
15 M R Poovamma Athletics The Arjuna Award
16 Manjeet Chhillar Kabaddi The Arjuna Award
17 Abhilasha Mhatre  Kabaddi The Arjuna Award
18 Anup Kumar Yama Rollerskating The Arjuna Award
19 Naval Singh Athletics-para-sports The Droncharya Award
20 Anoop Singh Wrestling The Droncharya Award
21 Harbans Singh Athletics-lifetime The Droncharya Award
22 Swatantar Raj Singh Boxing-lifetime The Droncharya Award
23 Nihar Ameen  Swimming-lifetime The Droncharya Award
24 Romeo James  Hockey The Dhyan Chand Award
25 Shiv Prakash Mishra Tennis The Dhyan Chand Award
26 TPP Nair  Volleyball The Dhyan Chand Award

Topics you might be interested in:
Rohan Menon
Fetching more content...