New User posted their first comment

Rio Olympics 2016, India Athletics: Srabani Nanda fails to qualify for Women's 200m semi-final, finishes 6th in her heat

Srabani Nanda failed to qualify for the semi-final as she finished 6th in her heat
Modified 15 Aug 2016

India’s sole athlete participating in the Women’s 200m sprint in the Rio Olympics 2016, Srabani Nanda, was unable to qualify for the semifinals of the event as she finished with a timing of 23.58 seconds at the 6th place in her Heat 5 which took place at the Olympic Stadium at Rio. It was Ivory Coast’s Marie-Josee Ta Lou from Heat 4 who was the fastest in qualification round as she finished with a timing of only 22.31 seconds. The African was followed by two Americans in Deajah Stevens (22.45) and Tori Bowie (22.47).

The 25-year old sprinter had to finish in the top-2 from her heat or had to finish as one of the 6 other fastest sprinters apart from the 18 athletes who had already qualified as one and two in their respective heats. The sprinter was placed in Heat 5 along with seven other athletes which consisted the likes of Great Britain’s Dina Asther-Smith, Nigeria’s Blessing Okagbare, Netherlands’ Tessa Van Schagen and Bahamas’ Anthonique Strachan.

It was always expected to be a difficult task for the Indian to be able to compete with these runners who have past experience of competing at the Olympic Games. The sprinter showed signs of nervousness and confidence as she waited for her heat to take place. She had to see four other heats take place before she could finally take to the track. The event consisted of a total of 72 women athletes competing to qualify for the semifinals which will take place on 17th August at 6:30 AM IST.

Srabani took a reaction time of 0.150 seconds in her heat which saw her finish with a total timing of 23.58 seconds to finish at the 6th spot in her heat. This timing was also not enough to take her through as one of the six other fastest losers. Blessing Okagbare took the first spot in Heat 5 with a timing of 22.71 seconds and Dina Asther-Smith finished runner-up with a timing of 22.77 seconds.

Here is the list of athletes who have qualified for the next round from all the 9 Heats:

Marie-Josee Ta Lou (Ivory Coast) – 22.31

Deajah Stevens (USA) – 22.45

Tori Bowie (USA) – 22.47

Michelle-Lee Ahye (Trinidad & Tobago) – 22.50


Dafne Schippers (Netherlands) – 22.51

Murielle Ahoure (Ivory Coast) – 22.52

Ivet Lalova-Collio (Bulgaria) – 22.61

Jenna Prandini (USA) – 22.62

Elaine Thompson (Jamaica) – 22.63

Natalia Pohrebniak (Ukraine) – 22.64

Ella Nelson (Australia) – 22.66

Jodie Williams (Great Britain) – 22.69

Blessing Okagbare (Nigeria) – 22.71

Edidiong Ofonime Odiong (Brunei) – 22.74

Dina Asther-Smith (Great Britain) – 22.77

Simone Facey (Jamaica) – 22.78

Semoy Hackett (Trinidad & Tobago) – 22.78

Mijunga Kambundji (Switzerland) – 22.78

Crystal Emmanuel (Canada) – 22.80

Gina Luckenkemper (Germany) – 22.80

Lisa Mayer (Germany) – 22.86

Nercely Soto (Venezuela) – 22.89

Tynia Gaither (Bahamas) – 22.90

Angela Tenorio (Ecuador) – 22.94

Click here for live updates from the 2016 Rio Olympics

Published 15 Aug 2016, 19:02 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now