New User posted their first comment

South Asian Games 2019 Athletics

Athletics competitions have been held at the South Asian Games since the inaugural edition of the South Asian Federation Games in 1984 in Kathmandu, Nepal. Athletics or track and field will be among the sports to be contested at the 2019 Southeast Asian Games. 

Venue and Dates

Athletics will be hosted in the Dasarath Stadium, Kathmandu from 3 to 7 December 2019. 

Performance of major countries

India has been the most successful country medal-wise in the last couple of editions of the Games, followed closely by Sri Lanka and Pakistan. In the last edition of SAG, held in Guwahati in 2016, India secured a total of 58 medals in athletics - 28 Gold, 22 Silver and 8 Bronze. Neeraj Chopra recorded the national best in the javelin throw with 82.23 m. 

2019 South Asian Games Athletics

Countries participating across the various athletic events are - Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. 

The events under athletics are as follows - 

For the individual events, each participating country may enter two competitors for each of the events. While for team events, each team shall be composed of four athletes from the list of athletes entered for the competition, whether for relays or any other athletics event. 

Indian Athletics Team at the South Asian Games 2019

Women’s Squad: 

100m and 4x100m Relay: Archana Suseendran, Himashree Roy, A Chandra Lekha, AT Daneshwari, Hina and Kaveri Patil

200m: Archana Suseendran and A Chandra Lekha

400m & 4x400m Relay: Lithika, Vijayakumari, Priya Habbathanahally, Florence Barla, Manisha Kushwaha and Nancy 

800m: PU Chitra and Rachna 


1500m: Chanda and PU Chitra 

5000m: Parul Chaudhary and Preeti Lamba 

10000m: Arati Dattatray Patil and Kavita Yadav 

100m Hurdles: Aparna Roy and Kanimozhi 

400m Hurdles: Jauna Murmu and Veerpal Kaur 

Long Jump: Priyanka and Sandra Babu 

Triple Jump: Bhairabi Roy and Siva Anbarasi MA 

High Jump: M Jashna and Rubina Yadav 

Shot Put: Abha Khatua and Kachnar Chaudhary 

Discus Throw: Suravi Biswas and Navjeet Kaur 

Javelin Throw: Sharmila Kumari and Sanjana Choudhary 

Marathon: Jyoti Gawate & Jigmet Dolma

Men’s Squad: 

100m: Amiya Kumar Mallick and Gurindervir Singh

200m: Nallabothu Shanmugha Srinivas and VA Shashikanth 

400m & 4x400m relay: K S Jeevan, Angrej Singh, Rashid, T Santhosh and Abdul Razak 

800m: Mohammed Afsal P and Ankit 

1500m: Ajay Kumar Saroj and Ajith Kumar 

5000m: Bugatha Srinu and Sunil Dawar 

10000m: Suresh Kumar and Ranjeet Kumar Patel 

110m Hurdles: Maymon Poulose and Surender Jayakumar 

400m Hurdles: Santhosh Kumar T and MP Jabir 

Long Jump: Lokesh Sathyanathan and Swamynathan 

Triple Jump: Karthik Unnikrishnan and Mohamed Salahuddin 

High Jump: Sarvesh Anil Kushare and Chetan Balasubramanya 

Shot Put: Tejinderpal Singh Toor and Omprakash Singh Karhana

 Discus Throw: Kripal Singh and Gagandeep Singh 

Javelin Throw: Shivpal Singh and Arshdeep Singh 

Marathon: Rashpal Singh and Sher Singh 

4x100m Relay: Amiya Mallick, Gurindervir Singh, Harjith Singh, Lovepreet Singh and Pranav Shashi

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now