HCL 42nd World Bridge Teams Championships finals to be held on 10th October, Saturday

From L to R: Mr. David Harris, General Counsel, WBF, Mr. Giannarigo Rona, President, WBF, Mr. NR Kirubakaramoorthy, President, BFI, and Ms. Georgia Heth, Honorary Secretary, WBF

The HCL-42nd World Bridge Teams Championships is set to end on Saturday, 10th October, 2015 and there will be a new set of winners of the Bermuda Bowl Open event, Venice Cup for women and d ‘Orsi trophy for seniors besides the Dastur trophy for the Transnational team event.

Addressing the Media, Mr. NR Kirubakaramoorthy, President, Bridge Federation of India (BFI), said: From all accounts, the Bridge Federation of India has justified the confidence reposed on it by the World Bridge Federation in organizing a championship that is being described as the best ever both in terms of the overall conduct and technology in use. Mr M.R. G. Apparao and his team in Netaccess Ltd have done a wonderful job in proving that the best technological facility can be provided by India for the Championship being held in the country for the first time. From the feedback we have this much is clear, everyone had only good things to say of the venue (The ITC Grand Chola Hotel) and the way the Championship had been run.

He further added: The World Bridge Federation and the Bridge Federation of India believe that the success of this event would generate enough interest in this mind-sport among the school going children and youth, not only in Chennai but India as a whole and a new generation of bridge players will rise to take India to the forefront in this sport at the international level.

Mr. Giannarigo Rona, President, World Bridge Federation (WBF) said: The Championship was also enriched by the participation of some best known names in the sport which include Zia Mahmood (USA), Eric Victor Rodwell (USA), Pierre Zimmerman (Monaco), Jeffrey John (Jeff) Meckstroth (USA), Geir Helgemo (Monaco), Tor Helness (Monaco),Fredrik Nystrom (Sweden), Johan Upmark (Sweden), Thomas Bessis (France), John Kranyak (USA), Vincent Demuy (USA), Sumit Mukherjee (India), Robert David "Bob" Hamman (USA), Andrew Robson (England), Anthony R. (Tony) Forrester (England), Michael Rosenberg (USA),Nicolas Smith and Sally Brock (England), Sylvie Willard (France), Hongli Wang (China), Gabriella Manara (Italy), Carla Arnolds (Netherlands), Jill Levin and Lynn Deas (USA).

The various finalists, Sweden and Poland (Bermuda Bowl), USA 2 and France (Venice cup) and USA 1 and Sweden (d Órsi trophy) have already gone through two days of gruelling time at the table. Expectations will be high and by this time on Saturday, we will be ready to crown the champions.

The focus will now shift to the 2017 World championship scheduled in Lyon, France.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
App download animated image Get the free App now