Favorites Edit

Anantapur defends ACA under 14 inter district cricket championship title

2.04K   //    16 Jul 2015, 15:00 IST
Anantapur team with their trophy

Anantapur was privileged to witness some of the best cricket played over the past 40 days including the group stages at the scenic Anantapur Sports Academy. Earlier in June, 12 district teams took part in the ACA U-14 Inter District Cricket Tournament who were equally divided into Elite & Plate groups. As per the dynamics of the competition, two teams from both the groups have qualified for the Knockout stages which was held from 10th to 14th of July, 2015.

Anantapur had to face some stiff challenges from the other districts during their group stages. The Defending champions were facing up against Chittoor in the first semi-final while Nellore played against Vishakhapatnam. Chittoor won the toss and decided to bat first and piled up 225 runs in 80 over’s. Harinath was the pick of the bowlers from the home team, picking up 3 wickets while giving away 66 runs. The Host team were 37 for no loss at stumps on Day1 of the two-day encounter.

On Day 2 the Openers shared an opening stand of 218 runs and easily surpassed the score of Chittoor and were awarded the all important First innings lead. The bulk of the scoring was done by B.Yogananda who had previously played some memorable knocks in the tournament. He completed his yet another century of 204 balls with 22 shots to the fence. Karan was the pick of the bowlers from Chittoor taking up 4 wickets while giving away 76 runs. The match came to an end with a draw and Anantapur moved up to the finals virtue of their first innings lead.

M.S.K Prasad felicitating B.Yogananda for his brilliant performance

The second Knockout match was played in the RDT main cricket ground between Nellore & Vishakhapatnam. As the game turned out it was an easy win for Nellore on virtue of their first innings lead.

The stage was set for an exciting final between Anantapur and Nellore on July 13, 2015.

Anantapur having won the toss had no hesitation to bat first. Arjun Tendulkar got out cheaply and it was again on the young shoulders of B. Yogananda to guide his team through. He was ably supported by Mahendra Reddy who scored a quickfire 47 runs but it was again B. Yogananda who stole the limelight by hammering another century and his 5th of the tournament. He scored 181 runs facing 204 balls with 31 hits to the fence. They declared the innings at 368 for 8. It was Madhav who was the pick of the bowlers from Nellore picking up two wickets while giving away 47 runs.

Image from the final match between Anantapur v Nellore

Nellore finished Day 1 with 28 runs for no loss. Day 2 and the concluding day of the match, it was the bowlers from Anantapur side who rattled the opposition for a paltry 180 runs to clinch the vital first innings lead. Barring two batsmen from Nellore who scored gritty half-centuries none other could show resistance on the wicket.

It was not a walk in the park for the defending champions who virtually had to face challenges with every opponent it faced during the course of the Tournament but eventually triumphed and are once again the deserving “CHAMPIONS” of the ACA U14 Inter District Cricket Championship.

Mr. M.S.K Prasad, former India Player and the Director (Operations) of Andra Pradesh Cricket Association was present during the entire course of the 2nd Day’s play.  Mr B.R Prasanna, Honourable Secretary of ADCA along with Mr. M.S.K Prasad gave away the Championship and the individual Trophies.

Fetching more content...