Favorites Edit

Stats: Karnataka's Karun Nair breaks record for highest score in Ranji Trophy finals

6.05K   //    11 Mar 2015, 11:17 IST
Karun Nair’s 328 has given Karnataka complete control in the Ranji Trophy final

Karnataka batsman Karun Nair broke the record for the highest score in a Ranji Trophy final on Day 4 of the ongoing final against Tamil Nadu at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. Resuming the day on the overnight score of 310*, Nair surpassed Gul Mohammad’s 319 for Baroda against Holkar in the 1946-47 season in next-to-no time to etch his name in the record books.

Nair was eventually dismissed for 328, missing out on teammate KL Rahul’s record for the highest score by a Karnataka player in Ranji Trophy history. Rahul, who made his Test debut for India against Australia during the Boxing Day Test match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) last year, had scored 337 against Uttar Pradesh at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore earlier this season.

As far as the match situation is concerned, Karnataka are in complete control and the result should be nothing but a mere formality. They bundled Tamil Nadu out for 134 in the 1st innings after winning the toss and choosing to bowl and are sitting on 677/8 (at the time of writing this article) in their 1st innings with a lead of 543 runs. At one stage, though, it didn’t seem all that comfortable with them staring down the barrel at 31/4 and then 84/5, but a 386-run partnership between Nair and Rahul (188) for the 6th wicket enabled a strong recovery and eventually put them in the driver’s seat.

Earlier, the Tamil Nadu batsmen had no answer to Karnataka’s bowlers on a helpful pitch as Vinay Kumar carried on his good form from the semi-finals against Mumbai and finished up with figures of 5/34 from his 15.4 overs with 6 maidens. 

Top 5 scores in the history of Ranji Trophy finals

Rank Player Score Team Opposition Season
1 Karun Nair 328 Karnataka Tamil Nadu 2014/15
2 Gul Mohammad 319 Baroda  Holkar 1946/47
3 Vijay Hazare 288 Baroda Holkar 1946/47
4 Vijay Merchant 278 Bombay Holkar 1944/45
5 Ashok Mankad 265 Bombay Delhi 1980/81

*Stats updated till 11 March, 2015 

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...