Write & Earn

KPL 2016: Belagavi Panthers inch closer to semis berth with win over Rockstars

The Rockstars could only score 87 runs in their 18 overs.

Mayank Agarwal Scored an aggressive 31 ball 66 runs for Belagavi Panthers
Mayank Agarwal Scored an aggressive 31 ball 66 runs for Belagavi Panthers

Hubbali, September 28: The Belagavi Panthers moved one step closer to a semifinal berth when they crushed the Rockstars by 9 wickets in a rain-truncated Karbonn KPL powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies T20  match at the KSCA Stadium at Rajnagar on Wednesday.

Morning rains ensured that the match started 40 minutes late and the Belagavi Panthers, who needed to win this tie to stay in the race for a semifinal berth, opted to field first under grey skies and the threat of rain hanging over their fortunes.

They dominated the afternoon match that was played under lights by constantly chipping away at the Rockstars batsmen. Only opener Vihaan Rajeev (24) made a worthwhile score. A target of 88 in 18 overs was never going to challenge the Panthers and with man-of-the-match Mayank Agarwal 66 n.o. (31b, 7x6, 3x4) going great guns the win became a formality.

Brief scores:

Rockstars: 87 for 9 in 18 overs (Vihaan Rajeev 24, Raju Gowda 19, Satish Bharadwaj 3/12, S Sachin  2/ 32, Praveen Dubey 2/16, CK Akshay 2/9) lost to Belagavi Panthers: 91 for 1 in 8 overs (Mayank Agarwal 66 n.o, Kunaian Abbas 19 n.o.) by 9 wickets.

All matches of the Karbonn KPL 2016 will be telecast live and exclusive on Sony ESPN SD and Sony ESPN HD Channels. 

Fetching more content...