Write & Earn

KPL 2016: Champs Bijapur Bulls stay in KPL hunt

Naveen scored 52 and Chipli scored a quick 32 to help Bijapur to a brilliant total of 175.

Bharath Chipli
Bharath Chipli scored a quick-fire 32

In the second match on Monday at the KPL, champions Bijapur Bulls boosted their tally of points by two by overwhelming Rockstars by 68 runs.

Opting to field first, Rockstars picked up wickets at regular intervals but failed to check the free flow of runs. Man of the match Naveen slammed 52 (33b, 3x6, 2x4) while opener Bharath Chipli made 32 from 27 balls (1x6, 3x4) as the winners coasted to 175 for 8 in the allotted 20 overs.

In reply, Rockstars had just two batsmen registering scores of note. Opener BR Sharath made 24 from 21 balls while Charan Teja who was a lot more aggressive notched up 28 from 17 balls inclusive of two sixes and two boundaries. Sinan Abdul Khader (3 for 18) returned his team’s best figures.

The KPL resumes on Wednesday after a day’s rest.

Brief scores:
Bijapur Bulls: 175 for 8 in 20 overs (MG Naveen 52, Bharat Chipli 32, Raju Gowda 3/24, Charan Teja 2/22) beat Rockstars 107  (Charan Teja 28, BR Sharath 21, Sinan Abdul Khader 3/18, Arshdeep Singh Brar 2/19) by 68 runs

Mysuru Warriors55000101.971
Hubli Tigers5410080.329
Bijapur Bulls6320171.351
Bellary Tuskers6330060.776
Namma Shivamogga633006-0.593
Belagavi Panthers523004-0.189
Mangalore United614013-0.11
Rock Stars505000-3.355
Fetching more content...