Favorites Edit

Mumbai qualify for Ranji quarters after draw against Karnataka

1.59K   //    09 Feb 2015, 21:14 IST
Mumbai’s draw against Karnataka has enabled them to progress to the quarter-finals

New Delhi, Feb 9 - Mumbai, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu from Group A, Delhi, Maharashtra and Vidarbha from Group B, and Assam and Andhra from Group C qualified on Monday for the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals after the ninth and final round.

Playing at home, Mumbai gained three points on the basis of first innings lead from the drawn game against Karnataka at the Wankhede Stadium. With Baroda out of the race after their loss to Tamil Nadu, Mumbai qualified for the quarters.

Lifted by Suryakumar Yadav's 77 not out, the hosts declared their second innings on 223/8. Karnataka then made 110/1 until the match was declared a draw.

Elsewhere, with a seven-wicket win over Baroda, Tamil Nadu confirmed their top place in Group A while Baroda were knocked out of the tournament.

In Group B, a six-wicket win over Vidarbha helped Maharashtra gain six points and a place in the quarters. Following on, Vidarbha resumed their innings on 274/6 on the fourth morning and were bowled out for 391 earlier in the day. Maharashtra then chased down the 164-run target in 30.5 overs.

In the Punjab vs Delhi match, the latter won by 90 runs.

Brief scores

At Hyderabad: Himachal Pradesh 1st innings 511 all out vs Hyderabad 1st inn 524 for five (Hanuma Vihari 263, Tanmay Agarwal 105; Vikramjeet Malik 2/58) Match drawn.

At Mumbai: Mumbai 1st innings 436 all out & 223 for eight declared (Suryakumar Yadav 77; Udit Patel 4/55) vs Karnataka 1st inn 415 all out, 2nd innings 110 for one, Match Drawn.


At Vadodara: Baroda 1st innings 149 all out & 245 vs Tamil Nadu 1st innings 188 & 207 for three (Murali Vijay 104; SS Mangalorkar 2/69) Tamil Nadu won by seven wickets.

At Indore: Madhya Pradesh 514 for six declared vs Bengal 219 all out & 303 for eight following on (Wriddhiman Saha 92; Puneet Datey 4/72) Match Drawn.

At Pune: Maharashtra 342 all out & 168 for four (Harshad Khadiwale 42; Ravikumar Thakur 2/50) vs Vidarbha 114 all out and 391 all out following on, Maharastra won by six wickets.

At Cuttack: Saurashtra 218 all out & 152, Odisha 88 & 283 for eight (Anurag Sarangi 83; Siddharth Trivedi 4/45) Odisha won by two wickets.

At Delhi: Railways 345 & 189 vs Uttar Pradesh 292 & 246 for three (Eklavya Dwivedi 102 not out) Uttar Pradesh won by seven wickets.

At Kannur: Assam 344 & 188 for six (Pallavkumar Das 72; KS Monish 3/51) vs Kerala 266 all out, Match Drawn.