Favorites Edit

Deepak Hooda's century lifts Baroda against Karnataka in the Ranji Trophy

2.13K   //    21 Jan 2015, 23:48 IST
Deepak Hooda
Deepak Hooda

Mysuru/Chennai, January 21 (IANS)

A fighting century by Deepak Hooda (142) lifted Baroda to 320 for eight against champions Karnataka, while left-arm spinner Rahil Shah (seven for 34) helped Tamil Nadu dismiss Mumbai for 141 in the Ranji Trophy league matches on Wednesday.

Winning the toss and electing to bat at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar Ground in Mysuru, Baroda slid to 93 for five, but Hooda held the innings together with the help of the lower-order batsmen Irfan Pathan (34), Pinal Shah (30) and Swapnil Singh (28 not out).

Karnataka sorely missed their skipper and main wicket-taker Vinay Kumar who pulled out of the game at the last minute due to indisposition while other seamers Abhimanyu Mithun (three for 75) and Ronit More (two for 52) faded after initial breakthroughs.

For Baroda, the 87-run sixth wicket partnership between Hooda and Irfan proved to be critical. Later, Hooda added 58 runs for the seventh wicket with Pinal Shah and another 72 for the eighth with Swapnil Singh.

The Karnataka bowling flagged in the final session of the day when Baroda scored 134 runs in just 29 overs to finish on a healthy 320 for eight.

At the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk in Chennai, Mumbai completely struggled against Rahil on a turning track. The 29-year-old received good support from another spinner Suresh Kumar (two for 54) as the duo exploited the conditions to perfection.

For Mumbai, young batsman Shreyas Iyer (50) fought hard but got no support from the other end. In reply, Tamil Nadu reached 136 for four at stumps.

Brief scores:

At Mysuru, Karnataka vs Baroda, Baroda 1st innings 320 for eight (Deepak Hooda 142; Abhimanyu Mithun 3/75, Ronit More 2/52)


At Chennai, Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu, Mumbai 141 all out (Shreyas Iyer 50; Rahil Shah 7/34) Tamil Nadu 1st innings 136 for four (Vijay Shankar not out 47; Akhil Herwadkar 2/5).,

At Porvorim, Goa vs Assam, Goa 1st innings 175 all out (Amogh Sunil Desai 42; Swarupam Purkayastha 5/69) Assam 1st innings 69 for one (Pallavkumar Das 42).

At Surat, Vidarbha vs Gujarat, Vidarbha 1st innings 236 all out (Shalabh Shrivastava 95; Ramesh Powar 5/87) Gujarat 1st innings 39 for no loss.

At Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh vs Andhra, Andhra 1st innings 123 for two (Srikar Bharat 47; Rishi Dhawan 2/40).

At Delhi, Railways vs Jammu and Kashmir, Railways 1st innings 50 for one (Rohan Bhosle 24).

At Ranchi, Jharkhand vs Hyderabad, Jharkhand 1st innings 295 for four (Saurabh Tiwary 100, Ishan Kishan 66).

At Pune, Maharastra vs Delhi, Maharastra 1st innings 312 for six (Swapnil Gugale 174, Chirag Khurana 55).

At Balangir, Odisha vs Rajasthan, Rajasthan 1st innings 191 for five (Vineet Saxena 87, Chetan Bist 51; Basant Mohanty 2/37).

At Rajkot, Saurashtra vs Haryana, Saurashtra 1st innings 238 all out (Chirag Jani 54 not out; Jayant Yadav 7 for 64) Haryana 1st innings 74 for three (Rahul Dewan 35; Kamlesh Makvana 2/32).

At Agartala, Tripura vs Kerala, Tripura 1st innings 127 for six (Bishal Ghosh 59; Nizar Niyas 3/25).

At Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh vs Bengal, Bengal 1st innings 141 for four (Sudip Chatterjee 60, Wriddhiman Saha 45; Kuldeep Yadav 2/58)

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...