Ranji Trophy: Pacer Rana Dutt puts Tripura in control against Jharkhand

Rana Dutt
Rana Dutt’s five-for help Tripura against Jharkhand

Dhanbad, December 21 (IANS)

Pacer Rana Dutt grabbed five wickets to help Tripura seize an early initiative against Jharkhand on the first day of their Ranji Trophy cricket match at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Sunday.

Dutt, along with fellow quicks Manisankar Murasingh and Abhijit Sarkar ran through the Jharkhand top-order batting line-up to dismiss them for 142. Dutt claimed five wickets conceding 64 runs.

Murasingh picked up two wickets for 22 while Sarkar claimed another brace giving away 33 runs.

Kumar Deobrat was the only bright spot for Jharkhand, hitting a defiant knock of 75 runs off 121 balls studded with 10 fours and three sixes.

In reply, Tripura were 72 for two in 31 overs at stumps with opener Bishal Ghosh and Rakesh Solanki were batting on 25 and 40 respectively.

In Kanpur, inclement weather meant only 50 overs could be bowled on the first tour, with batsmen Tanmay Srivastava and Prashant Gupta propelling Uttar Pradesh to 115 for one on the first day against Mumbai at the Green Park stadium.

The home team lost Mukul Dagar (15) after being asked to take first strike but from there Srivastava and Gupta batted assuredly to put on an unbeaten 87 runs stand.

At stumps, Srivastava was batting on 49 off 160 balls while Gupta made 41 off 107 deliveries.

Brief Scores:

Jharkhand vs Tripura - Jharkhand 1st Innings: 142 all out in 54.5 overs (Kumar Deobrat 75; Rana Dutt 5/64); Tripura 1st Innings: 72 for 2 in 31 overs (Rakesh Solanki 40 not out; Kaushal Singh 2/15).

Uttar Pradesh vs Mumbai - Uttar Pradesh 1st innings: 115 for one in 50 overs Tanmay Srivastava 49, Prashant Gupta 41; Shardul Thakur 1/31).

Jammu & Kashmir vs Baroda - J&K 266/6 (Parvez Rasool 65; Swapnil Singh 4/92).

Rajasthan vs Delhi - Rajasthan 141 (Rajesh Bishnoi 57; Parvinder Awana 4/15) Delhi 10/1 (4.0 ov).

Goa vs Himachal Pradesh - Goa 274/7 (Darshan Mishal 89; Vikramjeet Malik 2/55).

Vidarbha vs Haryana - Vidarbha 101/3 (Faiz Fazal; Asish Hooda 2/29).

Hyderabad vs Kerala - Hyderabad 225/7 (Hanumana Vihari 76; Perumparambath Anthaf 3/39).

Maharashtra vs Punjab - Maharashtra 210 (Rahul Tripathi 56; Siddharth Kaul 3/46); Punjab 26/1.

Karnataka vs Railways - Karnataka 207/7 (Kunal Kapoor 53; Krishnakant Upadhyay 4/75).

Saurashtra vs Gujarat - Saurashtra 207 (Sheldon Jackson 48; Axar Patel 4/72); Gujarat 3/0.

Andhra vs Services - Andhra 160/3 (Srikar Bharat 47; Saurabh Kumar 1/19).

Madhya Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu - Madhya Pradesh 250/4 (Jalaj S Saxena 120; Malolan Rangarajan 2/81).

Edited by –
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now