Favorites Edit

Stats: Highest partnerships in List A cricket; Morne van Wyk and Cameron Delport smash world record

7.42K   //    18 Oct 2014, 14:08 IST
File Photo: Dolphins captain Morne van Wyk

South African side Dolphins may not have managed to win a single match in the recently concluded Champions League T20, but with a change of format, their openers broke a 15-year long partnership record.

In the Momentum One Day Cup 2014/15 domestic competition, the Dolphins opening pair of Morne van Wyk and Cameron Delport batted through the entire 50 overs to register a world record 367 against Knights on Friday.

The partnership is now a world record for any wicket in List A matches, bettering the 331-run stand of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid that came for India against New Zealand at Hyderabad, 1999.

Skipper van Wyk blasted 175* off 171 while his young partner made 169* off 130 after chosing to bat. A total of 27 fours and 11 sixes were smashed by the two batsmen. 

The previous record for the opening wicket was held by Ghulam Ali and Sohail Jaffer (326*) for Pakistan International Airlines against Agriculture Development Board made in 2000/01 season.

The Protean pair achieved this feat in their third match of the competition that is under way in South Africa from October 10. In reply, the Knights put up a spirited fightback and raised a 275-run second wicket partnership with Reeza Hendricks (181 off 135) and Rudi Second (107 off 124) scoring centuries. Robert Frylinck’s triple strikes in space of two overs all but sealed the game for the Dolphins who emerged victorious by 25 runs.

In the list of the list of highest partnerships by wickets, surprisingly, not a single Australian pair make an entry.

Highest partnership by wicket in List A cricket:

Wicket Runs Partners Team Opposition Venue Date
1st 367* Morne van Wyk – Cameron Delport Dolphins Knights Bloemfontein 17 Oct 2014
2nd 331 Sachin Tendulkar – Rahul Dravid India New Zealand Hyderabad 8 Nov 1999 
3rd 309* Tim Curtis – Tom Moody Worcestershire Surrey The Oval 9 Aug 1994
4th 276 Mominul Haque – Roshen Silva  Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club Abahani Limited Bogra 17 Sep 2013
5th 267* Minhajul Abedin – Khaled Mahmud Bangladesh Bahawalpur Karachi 17 Mar 1998
6th 226 Nigel Llong – Mathew Fleming Kent Cheshire Bowdon 23 Jun 1999
7th 203* Thilina Kandamby – Rangana Herath Sri Lanka A South Africa A Benoni 28 Sep 2008
8th 203 Shahid Iqbal – Haaris Ayaz Karachi Whites Hyderabad (Pakistan) Karachi 8 Apr 1999
9th 155 Chris Read – Andrew Harris Nottinghamshire Durham Nottingham 11 Jun 2006
10th 106* Vivian Richards – Michael Holding West Indies  England Manchester 31 May 1984

*Stats updated till 18 October, 2014