Zimbabwe announce squad for 3 ODIs, 2 T20s against Bangladesh

Sean Williams bats during the ODI series against Afghanistan
Sean Williams bats during the ODI series against Afghanistan
Haradhan Gour
Modified 17 Jan 2019

Zimbabwe cricket have named a 16-man squad to travel to Bangladesh to play a series of 3 ODIs and 2 T20s starting from November 7. Leg spinner Graeme Cremer and wicket keeper batsman Regis Chakabva have been handed recalls to the team, and Elton Chigumbura has been named captain, according to Zim Cricket.

The ODI matches are on the 7th , 9th and 11th , while the Twenty20 International matches are on the 13th and 15th of November.

Chakabva was included in the team on the back of a strong performance for the A team against Ireland, where he scored a century in both innings. Cremer made the squad after recovering from an ankle injury. He last played for Zimbabwe earlier this month, during the home series against Pakistan, taking four wickets from four matches.

Hamilton Masakadza, who was left out of the team for the Afghanistan series, has not been considered for the Bangladesh tour either. Twelve players involved in the Afghanistan series are part of the team announced on Saturday – Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza Butt, Richmond Mutumbami, Wellington Masakadza, Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Malcolm Waller, Tendai Chisoro, and Neville Madziva.

Commenting on the squads, the convener of the national selection panel, Kenyon Ziehl, said: “We have picked a senior national squad that we believe will quickly recover from the disappointing series against Afghanistan and go to Bangladesh to show that we are a competitive nation.

“We have recalled Chakabva on the back of his strong performances for the A side against Ireland recently, as well as Cremer who has been declared fit to play.”

Zimbabwe squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Chamu Chibhabha, Tendai Chisoro, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Wellington Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

Published 31 Oct 2015
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now