Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

League of Legends World Championship: Samsung Galaxy take down SK Telecom T1 in the final

Samsung Galaxy entered the League of Legends World Championship tournament as the regional qualifier from Korea.

News 06 Nov 2017, 21:57 IST

The team
Samsung Galaxy celebrate their victory in style

On November 4, 2017, in front of a capacity crowd at the legendary Bird's Nest Stadium in Beijing, China, the crowd saw Samsung Galaxy sweep their Best-of-5 series against the two time defending champions SK Telecom T1.

SK Telecom T1 survived scares from Misfits Gaming, after falling 1-2 in their quarterfinal match, and Royal Never Give Up, one of the local Chinese teams to fall short in their quest to win their 4th title in the last five years. The team was led by, what many consider as the best player in the world, Sanghyeok "Faker" Lee.

Samsung Galaxy entered the League of Legends World Championship tournament as the regional qualifier from the Korean region. They defeated the Legends Champions Korea, or LCK, Summer Split Champions Longzhu Gaming 3-0 and Chinese regional qualifier Team WE 3-1 before defeating SK Telecom T1 3-0 in the final. The team was led by AD Carry Jaehyeok "Ruler" Park.

The opening ceremony was spectacular, complete with a CG inspired Elder Dragon flying around, clearly visible on the large screens in the middle of the stadium.

In Game 1, Samsung Galaxy (SSG) blanked SK Telecom T1 (SKT) 7-0 in kills with SSG's mid laner Crown getting the most kills with three.

In Game 2, SKT put up a bit of a fight but still lost the game when their Nexus blew up. SSG's Ruler and their top laner CuVee shared the kill lead with four each.

In Game 3, SKT had a bit of a lead in the early game, but were sidetracked by SSG's gameplay and clinched the championship with their 3rd straight victory over the 2-time defending champions. SSG CuVee's ChoGath came up with five kills while their jungler Ambition's champion, Sejuani, helped out with 14 assists.

Samsung Galaxy's win marked the 5th consecutive year that a Korean team had won the World Championship in the tournament's 7-year history, France's Fnatic and Taiwan's Taipei Assassins, now known as J Team, are the other two. It also marked the 3rd straight year of an all-Korean Final, as this was a rematch of last year's 5-game series classic. SKT won last year's series 3 games to 2.

Next year will mark the 8th year of the game League of Legends and the first year of the brand new franchise system for their North American League, with Cloud 9, Team SoloMid, Counter Logic Gaming, Echo Fox among the ten teams that were accepted into the new system. Many of these new teams that have been accepted are owned by NBA teams, including FlyQuest, owned by the Milwaukee Bucks, and three new franchises owned by the Cleveland Cavaliers, two owners of the Golden State Warriors and Houston Rockets. Last year, Team Dignitas were bought by the Philadelphia 76ers and merged with Apex Gaming, unfortunately, they were not accepted into the new league.

Fetching more content...