Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Rocket League World Championship wraps up with the crowning of a World Champion

Gale Force won the Rocket League Championship Finals.

News 14 Nov 2017, 10:46 IST

2017 Rocket League World Champions
2017 Rocket League World Champions

The Rocket League World Championship started on Friday with 10 teams and it ended on Sunday with the crowning of a World Champion.

The first game of the day started with a battle of the top two teams in North America with Cloud 9 taking on Ghost Gaming with the winner to face the winner of the PSG/G2 match.

In the first losers side quarterfinal, Ghost evened up the series 2-2 heading into the fifth game of the set, but Cloud 9 held off the constant offensive pressure by Ghost to win the series 3-2 and move onto the next round to face the winner of the next match.

The second losers side quarterfinal match put together North America's G2 eSports and Europe's Paris Saint Germain. G2 came back for a 0-1 deficit to win 3-1 with an offensive barrage in the final three games of the series. G2 would set a matchup against their North American rival, Cloud 9 in the next round.

The matchup between G2 and Cloud 9 was coming up next. G2 gave Cloud 9 their only loss of the North American league season. Both teams went back and forth with two of the first four games decided in overtime. An early goal by Cloud 9 in Game 5 of the series was the decider to give Cloud 9 the win and a match in the losers finals against the loser of the Gale Force/Method match.

The winners finals feature a rematch of the European Regional Finals between Method and Gale Force eSports in a best-of-seven series. Their last meeting was won by Gale Force. The series had to take all seven games to be decided with Gale Force winning 4-3. Gale Force advances to the Grand Final while Method would stay on the stage to face Cloud 9 in the losers final.

The losers final put together the two regular season champions from Europe (Method) and North America (Cloud 9). Cloud 9 is the only team in this matchup to win their league's playoffs. Method defeated Cloud 9 4-2 in a series where only one game was decided by more than one goal. Method's win set up an all-European Grand Final against Gale Force. In order for Method to win the championship, they must defeat Gale Force twice. Gale Force only needs to win one best of seven series to be crowned champions.

In the Grand Final, Gale Force needed a six-minute overtime period to complete the sweep of Method and become the 2017 Rocket League World Champions.

Fetching more content...