Create

Ubisoft is revealing a new Tom Clancy FPS game, which will reportedly be free to play

Ubisoft is revealing a new Tom Clancy FPS game, which will reportedly be free to play (Image by Ubisoft)
Ubisoft is revealing a new Tom Clancy FPS game, which will reportedly be free to play (Image by Ubisoft)
Suryadeepto Sengupta

Tom Clancy, the sub-publishing brand for Ubisoft’s military shooter games, has grown over the last 20 years to include a multitude of franchises, and a new IP might be revealed tomorrow.

Tom Clancy, author and founder of Red Storm Entertainment, penned several spy thrillers and became synonymous with the military espionage genre. He went on to release several successful games with Red Storm and formed the groundwork for future Ubisoft titles.

youtube-cover

Over the years, Ubisoft has developed games for six different Tom Clancy franchises, each with a distinct look.


A new free-to-play FPS Tom Clancy game will be revealed soon

Ubisoft recently took to Twitter to announce that a new Tom Clancy game will be revealed on July 19th, 2021, from 11 AM PDT / 2 PM EST / 8 PM CEST / 11:30 PM IST. While the name is yet to be announced, scenes featuring gameplay have already been revealed online.

According to gameplay clips, the game will be a PVP first-person shooter, with abilities such as deploying a dome shield to minimize damage. The game appears to belong to the close combat FPS genre.

According to popular industry insider Tom Henderson, the game is reportedly going to be a free-to-play title. Recently Ubisoft has been investing a lot more in free-to-play titles that can generate revenue through in-game transactions. Games such as Division Heartland and the upcoming new Top Clancy IP seem to share that design philosophy.


Tom Clancy games published by Ubisoft over the years

Since 1998’s Rainbow Six, the Tom Clancy game franchises have grown significantly over the last 20 years. The Tom Clancy games consist of the following franchises:

  • Rainbow Six (1998 - Present)
  • Ghost Recon (2001 - Present)
  • Splinter Cell (2002 - 2013)
  • EndWar (2008 - 2014)
  • H.A.W.X (2009 - 2010)
  • The DIvision (2016 - Present)

Rainbow Six Siege, Ghost Recon Breakpoint, and The Division 2 are currently being supported with new content and Rainbow Six Extraction and The Division Heartland are the newest additions.

The upcoming game, which is reportedly part of a new IP, will be the first one in 5 years since The Division. Fans are beyond excited to get a look at the upcoming game.


Edited by Siddharth Satish

Comments

comments icon

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...