Favorites Edit

2014 AFC Women's Asian Cup qualifiers: India Women's squad announced

833   //    07 May 2013, 15:49 IST

The final 23 players of the Indian Women’s national football team have been named for the 2014 AFC Women’s Asian Cup qualifiers in which India face hosts Palestine, Myanmar and Chinese Taipei later this month.The qualifying Group D would be played at the Faisal Al Huseni Stadium in the West Bank, Palestine. India open against Myanmar (May 21), then face Chinese Taipei (May 23) and then the hosts Palestine (May 25) in the final.

The AIFF had called-up 36 players for the India Women’s team probables camp held in Pune from April 1 ahead of the qualifiers. The team will visit Bahrain for two friendlies on May 14 and 16 before proceeding to Palestine for the qualifiers.

Missing from the final squad are Swarnamayee Samal, Rashmita Patra, Rebika Devi, Bijaya Devi, Manisha Panna, Nikhila Thumbayil, Montessori Chanu, Subhaprava Rout, Margaret Devi, Nima Lamhu Bhutia, Swati Rawat, Sangita Basfore and L. Naobi Chanu.

INDIA Women’s Team

Okram Roshini Devi, Tikina Samal, Usha Rani Das

Ashem Romi Devi, Loitongbam Ashalata Devi, Suprava Samal, Gurumayum Radharani Devi, Tuli Goon, Lako Phuti Bhutia, Ansha

Yumnam Kamal Devi, Yumlembam Premi Devi, Supriya Routray, Amoolya Kamal, Dangmei Grace, Oinam Bembem Devi, Sasmita Mallick, Paromita Sit

Irom Prameshwori Devi, Salam Rinaroy Devi, Jyoti Ann Burrett, Ngangom Bala Devi, Pinky Bompal Magar

Anadi Barua (Coach), Surmala Chanu (Assistant Coach), Chitra Gangadharan (Goalkeeping Coach), Dimple Jitesh Maniar (Physio), Indu Choudhary (Manager)

Image courtesy AIFF Media

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...