Favorites Edit

2nd Division I-League: Six teams qualify from Preliminary Round

829   //    28 Mar 2013, 09:43 IST

The preliminary round of the 2nd Division I-League ended earlier today with a couple of matches at the Bangalore Football Stadium with Kolkata side Southern Samity the sixth and final team making it to the final round of the 2nd Division. The 2nd Division I-League’s Final round will be played as a double header in Bangalore and Kerala and it will see Langsning FC, Rangdajied United FC, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Bhowanipore Club, Southern Samity and Mumbai Tigers FC in action.

From Group A, played in Singrauli, Madhya Pradesh, Shillong sides Langsning FC (20 pts) and Rangdajied United FC (18 pts) qualified ahead of DSK Shivajians FC (17 pts) from Pune with Kenkre FC (Mumbai), KGF Academy (Bangalore), Delhi United Soccer Club, George Telegraph SC (Kolkata), Samaleshwari Sporting Club (Orissa) and Kohima Komets (Nagaland) finishing behind them.

Group B was played in Indore, Madhya Pradesh with Kolkata sides Mohammedan Sporting Club (20 pts) and Bhowanipore Club (19 pts) making the final round ahead of Shillong’s Royal Wahingdoh FC (16 pts), Aryan Club (Kolkata), Aizwal FC (Mizoram), Josco FC (Kerala), PIFA (Mumbai), Green Valley SC (Guwahati) and Simla Youngs FC (Delhi).

Bangalore hosted Group C from which Kolkata’s Southern Samity (17 pts) and Mumbai Tigers FC (16 pts) qualified ahead of Goa’s Vasco SC (16 pts), Kalighat Milan Sangha (Kolkata), South United FC (Bangalore), Hindustan FC (Delhi), Eagles FC (Kerala) and Luangmual FC (Mizoram).

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...