AIFF confirmed 10 teams for I League second division



The Executive Committee of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) had confirmed 10 teams for upcoming I League second division. Although initially 24 teams forwarded application to AIFF but only 10 teams fulfilled all criteria set up by AIFF.

Dhar told to media that “For now ten teams have been selected for the second division. We have no team from Goa as only Vasco had applied and on performance criterion, they got rejected as they finished last in the Goa League. Around 24 teams had applied to play but when we asked for details and sent out our terms and conditions, most backed out,” .

Mumbai Tigers may also take part in the competition. United Sikkim will join in the final round of the league.

However according to AIFF fate of Mumbai Tigers will depends on whether they will clear the all pending dues of players within 10 days.

“Some players have written to the general secretary (Kushal Das) of the AIFF that they haven’t got salaries for the last three-to-four months. We have to send them the papers. If all the payments are up to date or if they clear it in the next ten days, then they can play in the second division. So principally they are okay to play in the second division,” informed Sunando Dhar, CEO of the I-League.

Teams confirmed to play in second division : Bhowanipore(West Bengal),Kalighat( West Bengal), Royal Wahingdoh(Meghalaya), Green Valley(Assam), Eagles FC ( Kerela), Hindustan FC(Delhi), MP United(Madhya Pradesh), Aizwal FC(Mizoram), Kenkre FC(Maharastra), PIFA Colaba(Maharastra).

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...