BREAKING: African Cup of Nations draw

Saransh Gehlot
Nigeria African Cup of Nations
Defending champions Nigeria won the previous edition of the African Cup of Nations in 2013

From the 17th of January to the 8th of February, the continent of Africa will be engrossed in an exciting tournament that will pick out the best football nation in Africa.

The African Cup of Nations will be held in Equatorial Guinea in a little more than a month’s time.

The preparations for the 2015 tournament have been far from smooth, with original hosts Morocco not staging it because of their fears over the Ebola outbreak.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) selected Equatorial Guinea as a replacement in November and expelled Morocco from the competition.

Equatorial Guinea had, initially, been disqualified in July for fielding an ineligible player, but they are now back in as the host nation.

The reigning champions Nigeria won't be able to defend their title as they could not qualify from their group as South Africa and Congo edged the Super Eagles to a place in the tournament.

The draws are:

Group A: Equatorial Guinea, Congo, Gabon, Burkina Faso

Group B: Zambia, DR Congo, Cape Verde, Tunisia

Group C: Ghana, Senegal, South Africa, Algeria

Group D: Ivory Coast, Guinea, Cameroon, Mali

The host cities are:

Group A - Bata

Group B - Ebibeyin

Group C - Mongomo

Group D - Malabo

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...