Favorites Edit

FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017: Anthony Taylor, the Premier League connection to India's showpiece event

881   //    15 Sep 2017, 15:10 IST

Anthony Taylor
Anthony Taylor

The FIFA U-17 World Cup in India is only days away and excitement levels are at their peak three weeks before the first ball is kicked. Preparations are in full-swing for the mega event, and stadiums are being handed over to FIFA as the tournament approaches its opening.

As with all FIFA events, the selection of referees is also an important part of the upcoming FIFA U-17 World Cup and the governing body of world football has finally picked the 21 squads of officials, a selection encompassing the globe with similar importance given to all the six confederations.

While the AFC, CAF, and CONCACAF will have three groups of referees participating in next month's mega event in India, UEFA will have the maximum participation with as many as seven teams of referees. South America's CONMEBOL has four groups of referees, while Oceania's OFC has the least number of referee representatives with only one group heading to India.

Among the European referees to officiate in India at the World Cup next month is Anthony Taylor, a name familiar to Premier League and Champions League fans in India. Taylor will be accompanied to India by Adam Nunn and Gary Beswick as his line officials and the trio are the only officials from the Premier League, representing England.

Anthony Taylor during the 2017 FA Cup final
Anthony Taylor during the 2017 FA Cup final

Taylor has officiated in big matches in Europe and comes to India with a reputation. He was the main referee during this year's FA Cup final between Arsenal and Chelsea. He has also officiated the 2015 League Cup final and the 2015 Community Shield. With officials of the calibre of Taylor set for India, it is no surprise the coming FIFA U-17 World Cup has been dubbed as the biggest event in Indian football history.

Here is the list of all officials for the FIFA U-17 World Cup, starting 6th October:

African Zone

Mehdi Abid Charef, Algeria


Hamada Nampiandraza, Madagascar

Bamlak Tessema Weyesa, Ethiopia

Asian Zone

Muhammad Bin Jahari, Singapore

Ryuji Sato, Japan

Nawaf Shukralla, Bahrain

European Zone

Anthony Taylor, England

Ovidiu Hategan, Romania

Robert Madden, Scotland

Anastasios Sidiropoulos, Greece

Artus Soares Dias, Portugal

Clement Turpin, France

Slavko Vincic, Slovenia

North, Central American and Caribbean Zone

Jair Marrufo, USA

Ricardo Montero, Costa Rica

John Pitti, Panama

South American Zone

Jose Argote, Venezuela

Enrique Caceres, Paraguay

Sandro Ricci, Brazil

Gery Vargas, Bolivia

Oceanian Zone

Abdelkader Zitouni, Tahiti

Support referees

Gladys Lengwe, Zambia

Hyang Ok Ri, Korea DPR

Carol Anne Chenard, Canada

Claudia Umpierrez, Uruguay

Anna-Marie Keighley, New Zealand

Kateryna Monzul, Ukraine

Esther Saubli, Switzerland