Write & Earn

FIFA U17 World Cup 2017: How all the 24 teams qualified for the showpiece event

This is how all the teams booked their tickets to India.

Enter caption

FIFA U-17 is about to commence in three days kicking off at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi. 24 teams are in the main draw fighting for the coveted WC trophy. Here we take a look how those teams got here.


India | USA | Colombia | Ghana

This is the first time that India is playing in any FIFA tournament. They get to do so by being the hosts, which is also a first for this country for any FIFA event. 

USA are here by the dint of being runners-up at the CONCACAF U-17 Championship having lost in the penalty shootout in the final to Mexico. On route, in the group stages, they did beat the same ‘El Tri’ 4-3 that they eventually lost to in the finals, marking their first triumph in 25 years against them in the continental championships. 

While Colombia made it by acquiring the third place in 2017 South American U-17 Championship, temperamental side Ghana are here as the runners-up in the CAF Africa U-17 Cup of Nations.



Page 1 of 6 Next
Fetching more content...