Favorites Edit

Intercontinental Cup 2018: Kenya begin training without Tottenham Hotspur's Victor Wanyama and other big stars

1.80K   //    17 May 2018, 13:39 IST

Tottenham Hotspur v Chelsea - Premier League
Victor Wanyama in action in a match against Chelsea

The Intercontinental Cup is fast approaching as India, Kenya, Chinese Taipei and New Zealand get ready to begin the battle on June 1st at the Mumbai Football Arena in Mumbai. Naturally, preparations are underway and Kenyan coach Sébastien Migné held the first training session for the Harambee stars on Tuesday, May 15. 

The newly appointed coach took the audition of 25 local players. Stars such as Musa Mohammed and Eric Ouma were also in attendance. The sole aim of the session was to scout national team call-ups. 

However, what was most surprising was that top stars such as Victor Wanyama were missing from the session. The 26-year-old defensive midfielder played well for The Lilywhites in the Premier League whenever he was given the opportunity.

He missed out most of the games as he damaged his hyaline cartilage and was out injured for half of the season. The Tottenham player did, however, play the majority of their games in 2018, even starting in most and going on to play the full 90 minutes.

McDonald Mariga, another Kenyan legend, who created history by being the first ever footballer of his nation to play in the Champions League while he was playing with Internazionale, was also missing from the action. The 31-year-old from Nairobi has always been a regular for the national team.

The defensive midfielder presently plays with Real Oviedo, a La Liga 2 club but is better known for the time he played at Serie A clubs Parma and Inter Milan. Why the 6"2' solid player missed the training after a decent season with Oviedo is certainly questionable.

The Kenyan squad which has begun training is as follows:


John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers).


Yusuf Mainge (AFC Leopards), Bolton Omwenga (Kariobangi Sharks), David Owino (Mathare United), Dennis Shikhayi (AFC Leopards), Michael Kibwage (AFC Leopards), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), Geoffrey Shiveka (Kariobangi Sharks), Moses Mudavadi (St Anthony Kitale), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Musa Mohamed (Unattached), Eric Ouma (KF Tirana, Albania).



Chrispin Oduor (Mathare United), Vincent Wasambo (Kariobangi Sharks), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Robert Arot (Nakuru All-Stars), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Marvin Omondi (AFC Leopards), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Jafari Odenyi (AFC Leopards).


Elvis Rupia (Nzoia Sugar), Pistone Mutamba (Wazito FC), Ovella Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks).

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...