Favorites Edit

Intercontinental Cup 2018: Ashique Kuruniyan included in India's 30-man squad, Balwant Singh, Sunil Chhetri make returns

Soumo Ghosh
1.65K   //    10 May 2018, 14:41 IST

Sunil Chhetri
Sunil Chhetri

Indian football team head coach Stephen Constantine has named a 30-man probables squad for the 2018 Intercontinental Cup, giving a chance to a number of new faces who have done well in both the Indian Super League and the I-League.

Having qualified for the 2019 AFC Asian Cup earlier this year, the Blue Tigers are set to get their preparations for the major tournament. The AIFF has arranged the Intercontinental Cup, in order to help the team prepare for the Asian Cup, as they get set to face off against some quality opponents like Kenya, New Zealand and Chinese Taipei.

Interestingly, Constantine has included a number of top performers from last season's ISL and I-League. The likes of Jamshedpur FC goalkeeper Sanjiban Ghosh, Mumbai City FC defender Davinder Singh, Chennaiyin FC midfielders Dhanpal Ganesh and Anirudh Thapa, and FC Pune City winger Ashique Kuruniyan are some of the relatively new faces in the squad.

Additionally, star forward Balwant Singh, who has had an injury-laden season, and Sunil Chhetri, who was rested for Kyrgyzstan game, have also been brought back into the squad.


Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Bengaluru FC), Amrinder Singh (Mumbai City FC), Vishal Kaith (FC Pune City); Sanjiban Ghosh (Jamshedpur FC)

Defenders: Subhasish Bose (Bengaluru FC), Sandesh Jhingan, Lalruatthara (both Kerala Blasters FC), Souvik Chakrabarti, Anas Edathodika ( both Jamshedpur FC), Salam Ranjan Singh (East Bengal), Jerry Lalrinzuala (Chennaiyin FC), Narayan Das (FC Goa), Pritam Kotal (Delhi Dynamos), Davinder Singh (Mumbai City FC)

Midfielders: Rowllin Borges, Halicharan Narzary (both NorthEast United FC), Dhanapal Ganesh, Anirudh Thapa (both Chennaiyin FC), Udanta Singh (Bengaluru FC), Mohammed Rafique (East Bengal), Bikash Jairu (Jamshedpur FC) Pronay Halder (FC Goa), Laldanmawia Ralte (East Bengal), Ashique Kuruniyan (FC Pune City), 

Forwards: Balwant Singh (Mumbai City FC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Chennaiyin FC), Seiminlen Doungel (NorthEast United FC), Alen Deory (Shillong Lajong FC), Manvir Singh (FC Goa), Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC). 

Topics you might be interested in:
Soumo Ghosh
Fetching more content...