New User posted their first comment

ISL 2016: FC Goa unveils 24 man squad for third season

FC Goa players along with Head coach and manager Zico and technical staff at the squard launch in Goa.jpg
FC Goa players along with Head coach and manager Zico and technical staff at the squad launch in Goa
Press Release
Modified 30 Sep 2016, 21:20 IST

FC Goa unveiled its 24 man squad at the training facility in Nagoa to a rousing welcome from fans and well-wishers ahead of the first match of the Hero Indian Super League 2016.

There were huge cheers from the fans as each player’s name was called out. Fan favourites Romeo Fernandes, Mandar Rao Dessai, Gregory Arnolin and Rafael Coelho walked onto the ground to huge cheers. Marquee player Lucio who was retained for the second season expressed his delight at being able to come back for another year. Said Lucio “I am very happy to come back to a place like Goa where people are passionate about the sport,”.

With the Gaurs narrowly missing out on the title last year, the former Internazionale defender said he expects the side to try even harder this year. “We will try hard to win the title this year. Last year we were close. As a squad, we are trying hard in training to become better players. We want to bring joy to our fans and to the state of Goa,” he explained.

The club also unveiled the new kit design for the third season of the ISL. After sportswear giants Umbro were confirmed as the kit manufacturer, the club also unveiled Deltin Hotels as the principal kit sponsor for the third season.

Also read: 5 Indian players whose careers have been transformed by the ISL

FC Goa kick off their season with an away trip to Guwahati where they will face NorthEast United FC on 4th October 2016 before returning to Goa for their first home game against FC Pune City on 8th October 2016.

Squad List:

Lucimar Da Silva Ferreira (LUCIO)
Joffre Mateu Gonzalez
Subhasish Roy 
Reinaldo Da Cruz Oliveira
Fulganco Cardozo
Gregory Arnolin
Robin Singh
Rafael Coelho
Luciano Sobrosa
Keenan Almeida
Pratesh Shirodkar
Denzil Franco
Sukhadev Patil
Raju Gaekwad
Debabrata Roy
Laxmikant Kattimani
Mandar Rao Dessai
Romeo Fernandes
Richarlyson Barbosa
Rafael Dumas
Trindade Goncalves
Sahil Tavora
Sanjay Balmuchu
Julio Cesar

For more articles like this and all news related to the wide world of Indian football, please click here. For ISL specifically click here. Let's Football.

Published 30 Sep 2016, 21:06 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit