Write & Earn

ISL 2017: 5 players who have won both ISL and I-League titles

Who are the players who have achieved this unique double?

Debjit Mazumder and Pritam Kotal
Debjit Majumder and Pritam Kotal

Indian football got a completely new outlook ever since the Indian Super League (ISL) was introduced in 2014. For three seasons, the franchise-based competition was held just before the I-League, India’s premier football tournament, but from this year onwards, both leagues will run in parallel. This means footballers who used to participate in both events have now had to make a choice.

However, before this step was taken, some players achieved the unique double of winning the ISL as well as I-League champion’s medal for their respective teams.

We go down memory lane to take a look at five of these footballers.

#1 Kingshuk Debnath (ISL- 2014, I-League – 2014-15)

Kingshuk Debnath (R) posing with the I-League trophy alongside Shilton Paul
Kingshuk Debnath (R) posing with the I-League trophy alongside Shilton Paul

The Mohun Bagan right back was taken on loan by ATK in 2014, a season which saw them win their first of the two ISL crowns. He featured in 11 matches for the Red and Whites, forming a solid defensive line with Arnab Mondal, Josemi and Biswajit Saha.

Debnath then went on to win the I-League for Mohun Bagan that very season. He was a regular figure in the Mariners’ back four, who broke the jinx of Kolkatan team’s failure to bag the national title after 11 long years.

He will again turn out for the Green and Maroons in this I-League season.

 Also read: ISL 2017: Top scorers who set the pre-season on fire

Page 1 of 5 Next
Fetching more content...