⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

ISL 2017: Top 10 managers in ISL history by win percentage

Deepak P
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 14:05 IST

Zico coached FC Goa for three seasons

The Indian Super League is in its fourth edition and over the years, it has seen a variety of coaches become a part of the competition, which includes a number of big names such as Zico, Roberto Carlos, Gianluca Zambrotta, Marko Materazzi and David Platt.

Each manager who has come to the league has often talked about how challenging it is and how they have had to adapt their approach to find success in the Indian game. Here, we try to analyse the top 10 coaches who managed Indian Super League sides and came out on top.

For the analysis, coaches who have managed the teams for a minimum 10 matches have been considered and as a result, 17 gaffers come into the reckoning.

They are -- Alexandre Guimarães, Antonio Habas, Cesar Farias, David James, David Platt, Franco Colomba, Gianluca Zambrotta, Harm van Veldhoven, Jose Molina, Marco Materazzi, Nelo Vingada, Nicolas Anelka, Peter Reid, Ricki Herbert, Roberto Carlos, Steve Coppell and Zico.

#10 José Francisco Molina

Villarreal CF v Valencia CF  - Liga BBVA
José Francisco Molina

José Francisco Molina coached ATK In the 2016 season of the ISL and made sure the Kolkata team won the laurels, beating Kerala Blasters in penalty shootouts in the final.

ATK had finished in fourth place during the league stage under him and were drawn against first-place Mumbai in the semi-finals, which they won with 3-2 in the home leg and a goalless draw in the away leg.

He had a win% of 35.29 from 17 matches, winning six matches while nine matches ended in a draw. He is the number ten on our list!

Also read: ISL 2017: ATK left out of Salt Lake Stadium concessions, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan reap benefits

1 / 10 NEXT
Published 21 Nov 2017, 18:02 IST
Fetching more content...