Favorites Edit

ISL 2017: Where are Chennaiyin FC's Season 2 winning stars now?

Top 5 / Top 10
22.91K   //    10 Nov 2017, 14:28 IST

The 2015 edition of the ISL was one of the most exciting leagues so far. Specially in the finals, as the drama unfolded in front of the crowds present at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa, where the home team FC Goa were leading 2-1 till the 90th minute, but an own goal by the FC Goa keeper Kattimani and a Steven Mendoza goal moments later ensured that the Super Machans won their first Indian Super League title in a dramatic manner. Chennaiyin FC finished third in the league stages but eventually went on to lift the coveted trophy.

It was a season to remember for Chennaiyin in all aspects, as they also hosted the opening ceremony and went on to lift the title as well. 

In this article we take a look at the star players of Chennaiyin from the 2015 season and where they are now.


Apuola Edima Bete Edel 

Apoula Edel
Apoula Edel

The Armenian goalkeeper, who is also better known as Edel Bete is a two time ISL winner once with ATK in the inaugural edition and then again with Chennaiyin in the 2015 edition. He was also termed as a lucky charm by many, as the teams he represented in the first two editions went on the win the league.

His heroics during the 2015 edition played a big part in ensuring Chennaiyin qualified for the knock out phases and then eventually won the league. 

After the 2015 season he went on the play for FC Pune City in the 2016 ISL but failed to win the title for the Stallions. The former PSG shot stopper is currently a free agent and is without a club for the 2017-18 season. 

1 / 4 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...