Favorites Edit

Kerala Premier League 2018: FC Thrissur and Kerala Blasters kick off fifth season

Vrinda Chopra
4.99K   //    03 Apr 2018, 22:08 IST

Enter capt

The Kerala Premier League is a professional league organized by the Kerala Football Association and is played in the state of Kerala, India. The league is split into two groups – ‘Group A’ and ‘Group B’, and the teams who finish at the top two spots of their respective groups, qualify for the final round. Following are the groups:

Group A:

Kerala Police

Cochin Port Trust

Sat Tirur

Kerala Blasters FC (KBFC)

FC Thrissur

Group B:

SBI Kerala


Gokulam FC

Central Excise

FC Kerala

Quartez FC

This year’s season will be the fifth edition of the competition, and will witness ten clubs battle each other out on the football field, fighting for the top two spots of their respective groups, in order to qualify on to the final round. Last season, KSEB beat FC Thrissur four goals to two in order to emerge as the winners of the Kerala Premier League with goals from Alex, Safvan, Joby Justin, and Sajeer Khan.

However, this season defending champions KSEB backed out, citing a shortage of funds. while AG's also withdrew, making the KPL a 10-team affair. 

The opening fixture will see FC Thrissur and KBFC lock horns at the Corporation Stadium in the home of FC Thrissur. After having a below par Indian Super League (ISL) season, the Blasters will be looking to make up for their average performances in the Super League. The Kerala Blasters will be determined to register a win in the opening fixture of the Kerala Premier League.

Also read: I-League 2017/18: How Bino George is leading Gokulam Kerala's mission of giant-killing in Indian football

Following is the list of fixtures for the competition:

<p src=" />
Here is the entire schedule

The excitement levels are rising in anticipation of the kick off of the new season of the Kerala Premier League with the Kerala Blasters and Gokulam FC tipped to fight for the top spot and claim the prize while dFC Thrissur will be the dark horse in the race.