Favorites Edit

Mizoram Premier League second season winner to be decided by double-legged playoff

1.11K   //    15 Jul 2013, 15:24 IST

Mizoram Premier LeagueThe Mizoram Premier League board meeting has decided that the winner of second edition of Mizoram Premier League will be decided via a double-legged playoff final between the two best teams of the league.The eight MPL teams will play against each other on a home-and-away basis during the course of the season with the two teams with the highest number of points at the end of the 14 rounds facing each other for the Championship Playoff Final.

The Secretary of the Mizoram Football Association, Lalnghinglova Hmar, says that this playoff system is introduced in order to ensure that all the matches in the MPL remains competitive.

The MPL will kick start in the later part of August 2013, provided the floodlights in the Lammual Stadium is ready in time. The Government of Mizoram is installing floodlights and the installation work is going on at the Lammual Stadium in which all the matches of the MPL will take place. Meanwhile all the matches of the MPL 1 was telecast live by Zonet Cable TV Pvt Ltd and they will continue to cover the entire season of the MPL 2.

The inaugural season of MPL was a huge success both on and off the pitch, with preparation for the MPL 2 having already started with a busy transfer market in which Aizawl FC remains the biggest spender. They recruited former Shillong Lajong midfielder and the Best Midfielder of MPL 1, Rohmingthanga, from FC Kulikawn along with three top local talents from their rivals. To top their spending, Aizawl FC have signed a pre-contract agreement with ONGC’s David Lalrinmuana, who is also the former captain of Aizawl FC during the 2011/12 season in which David was declared the Best Player in the I-League Second Division.

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...