Favorites Edit

National camp kicks-off in Pune

AIFF Media
773   //    23 Aug 2015, 18:06 IST
The coaching staff at DSK Dream City in Pune


The Indian National Team’s Preparatory Camp for the Russia 2018 World Cup Preliminary Joint Qualification match against ‘Giants of Asia,’ Iran, kicked-off at the DSK Dream City, home of DSK Shivajians Football Club in Pune on Sunday. The practice sessions, however, would kick-off from tomorrow.

Prior to hosting Iran at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru on September 8, India will play a practice match against Nepal on August 31 at the Balewadi Stadium in Pune. National Coach Stephen Constantine who arrived at the venue in the morning said he was “looking forward to working with the players” again.

“I expect 28 boys to turn up, ready to represent their country. It’s a very important game for us as are all the games with the National Team,” he told “We also have a Friendly against Nepal (on August 31) and that will help us prepare better.”

Constantine thanked the clubs for releasing the players

“I would like to thank I-League and ISL clubs for their co-operation in releasing the players,” he stated. “It’s important that we all think about the development and betterment of Indian Football.”

Constantine who paid a visit to the training site along with his support staff in the afternoon praised the DSK authorities for their willingness to help.

“I have travelled around the country in the last six months trying to find accommodation, a training pitch and a stadium in one place. Sadly, however, I haven’t been able to find many,” he informed.

“There’s a huge requirement that we have a National Training Centre and even as we are currently looking at possible places, the DSK Academy offers us everything, or more than what we require.”

“Here we have pitches and facilities in one campus and the distances that we have to cover are super excellent and so much convenient,” he maintained. “I want to thank the DSK authorities for putting Indian Football on their priority.”

The list of 28 probables stay as follows:


Subrata Paul, Karanjit Singh, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Arindam Bhattacharya, Sanjiban Ghosh.


Arnab Mondal, Sandesh Jhingan, Aiborlang Khongjee, Dhanachandra Singh, Lalchhuanmawia, Narayan Das, Rino Anto, Pritam Kotal.


Dhanapal Ganesh, Eugenson Lyngdoh, Cavin Lobo, Sehnaj Singh, Jackichand Singh, Pronoy Halder, Brandon Fernandes, Francis Fernandes, CK Vineeth, Rowlin Borges, Romeo Fernandes.


Halicharan Narzary, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri.

Topics you might be interested in:
AIFF Media
Official account of AIFF
Fetching more content...