Favorites Edit

Syed Rahim Nabi crowned AIFF Player of the Year 2012

Amoy Ghoshal
1.63K   //    20 Dec 2012, 18:35 IST

India’s Mr. Versatile Syed Rahim Nabi has been adjudged as the AIFF Player of the Year 2012. The announcement was made by AIFF president Praful Patel during the AGM at the Football House, New Delhi on Thursday.

Nabi was chosen the winner after voting by I-League Club Coaches. The voting procedure ended on December 14.

Nabi, who recently turned 27, was an integral part of the India team during the Nehru Cup triumph earlier this year and has been consistent at club level also despite Mohun Bagan’s struggles in 2012.

The former Mohammedan Sporting and East Bengal player also won the FPAI (Football Players’ Association of India) Indian Player of the Year Award earlier in the summer.

Although a fan favourite throughout the country, Nabi was unfortunately hit by a missile during the ill-tempered Kolkata Derby on December 9 and is currently recovering from that nasty injury.

India coach Wim Koevermans said, “I congratulate Rahim Nabi on being chosen the winner by the various I-League club coaches. I wish him all the best for the future and wish him a speedy recovery.”

International Career

International debut: Against Oman in the Pre World Cup Qualifiers in Muscat.

Caps: 61 Goals: 6


Honours: Nehru Cup:  2007, 2009 and 2012 (all in New Delhi); SAFF Cup: 2005 (Karachi) & 2011 (New Delhi); AFC Challenge Cup: 2008 (New Delhi).

Club Career

Mohammedan Sporting (2002-204); East Bengal (2004-2011); Mohun Bagan (2011-present)

Honours: Trophies Won: Federation Cup: (2007, 2009, 2010); Durand Cup: (2004); San Miguel Cup (Kathamandu): (2004); Kolkata League: (2004, 2006, 2010) Super Cup: (2005-06))

Past winners of AIFF Player of the Year award:

1992: I.M.Vijayan

1993: V.P.Sathyan

1994: Jo Paul Ancheri

1995: Baichung Bhutia

1996: Bruno Coutinho

1997: I.M.Vijayan

2000: I.M.Vijayan

2001: Jo Paul Ancheri

2002: Deepak Mondal

2003: Tomba Singh

2004: S. Venkatesh

2005: Climax Lawrence

2006: Surkumar Singh

2007: Sunil Chhetri

2008: Baichung Bhutia

2009: Subrata Paul

2010: Gouramangi Singh

2011: Sunil Chhetri

Topics you might be interested in:
Amoy Ghoshal
A passionate football follower, Amoy Ghoshal has been covering Indian football for almost six years now having worked at and Hindustan Times previously..
Fetching more content...