'Sherlock' actor Benedict Cumberbatch to host Laureus Sports Awards


Kuala Lumpur, March 19 (IANS): Film and TV star Benedict Cumberbatch, best known for his portrayal of the detective Sherlock Holmes in a British BBC TV series, will be hosting the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards here on March 26.

Benedict has appeared in a series of highly successful films over the last few years, including this year’s Oscar-winning ’12 Years a Slave’ and the Academy Award nominated β€˜August: Osage County’.

β€œI am a big sports enthusiast and I am delighted to be able to host such an important event in the sporting year. I have seen the names of all the great sportsmen and women who have been nominated for the Laureus Awards this year and, although I played a great detective in Sherlock, I have to confess I have no idea who is going to win. They all seem to have achieved so much. But it will be great to be part of such a special event,” he said.

The 15th Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognise sporting achievement during the calendar year 2013, is the premier honours event on the international sporting calendar.

The full list of nominees for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards is as follows:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year:

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) – athletics; Mo Farah (UK) – athletics; LeBron James (US) – basketball; Rafael Nadal (Spain) – tennis; Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) – football; Sebastian Vettel (Germany) – motor racing.

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year:

Nadine Angerer (Germany) – football; Missy Franklin (US) – swimming; Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) – athletics; Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) – athletics; Tina Maze (Slovenia) – skiing; Serena Williams (US) – tennis.

Laureus World Team of the Year:

All Blacks (NZ) – Rugby Union; Bayern Munich (Germany) – football; Brazil Men’s football team; Bob & Mike Bryan (US) – tennis; Miami Heat (US) – basketball; Red Bull (Austria) – motor racing.

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year:

Afghanistan cricket team; Marc MΓ‘rquez (Spain) – motorcycling; Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany) – athletics; Nairo Quintana (Colombia) – cycling; Justin Rose (UK) – golf; Adam Scott (Australia) – golf.

Laureus World Comeback of the Year:

Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) – athletics; Rafael Nadal (Spain) – tennis; Oracle Team USA – sailing; Tony Parker (France) – basketball; Ronaldinho (Brazil) – football; Tiger Woods (US) – golf.

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability:

Marie Bochet (France) – skiing; Marcel Hug (Switzerland) – wheelchair racing; Tatyana McFadden (US) – wheelchair racing; Sophie Pascoe (NZ) – swimming; Sarah Louise Rung (Norway) – swimming; Olga Sviderska (Ukraine) – swimming.

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year:

Jamie Bestwick (UK) – BMX; Bob Burnquist (Brazil) – skateboarding; Mick Fanning (Australia) – surfing; John John Florence (US) – surfing; Maya Gabeira (Brazil) – surfing; Shaun White (US) – snowboarding.

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment