Write & Earn

When sports scribes honoured another sports writer in India

When sports scribes honoured another sports writer in India

Sports scribes often rub sportspersons on the wrong side, as it were, criticising them for poor form and indifferent performance. But they can do the opposite too: hail their feats and honour them. Sports Journalists’ Associations have been doing thisin different

states. But the new look Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists Association-’popularising’ itself with the abbreviation TNSJA and  using it  as a prefix while instituting awards in different categories, has been  doing so differently  For instance,  since TNSJA assumed  a mew look with a young set of scribes taking over as office bearers in 2012, they hit upon  novel idea of   sports scribes honouring  a distinguished veteran with the TNSJa Life Time Achievement award from this year.

Two days ago at a colourful function, along with other sportspersons spanning the past, present and future generations in Indian sport,  a master sportsscribe of  the respected English daily The Hindu, known for its fair and extensive coverage of sports, Executive Editor Mr S. Thyagarajan was presented the new Award. Fittingly, it was presented to him by another veteran sports scribe Mr Partab Ramchand.

And with another edition of  the FIFA  world cup football championship to be held in Brazil nearing, TNSJA  honoured yesteryear Indian footballer from Tamil Nadu Simon Sunderaj. He also received the Lifetime Achievement award to thunderous applause from  fellow star sportsperons spanning three generations who attended the awards function. Simon was given a standing ovation again  when it was revealed that  his goal in the 1960 Rome Games was the last goal India had scored in the Olympics!

TNSJA  which has found a worthy sponsor in a sports loving real estate company,  has also increased the scholarship to outstanding junior and age group talents.As many as ten of them were honoured for 2014.

TNSJA scholarship awards  this year were given to the  following upcoming talents who represent the future of Indian sport :

A. Aravind & S. Prasanna Venkatesh (basketball), P. Sudhakar & A. Raegan (football) - Scholarships winners (Rs. 30,000 each):

P. Deepika and J. Hemasree (athletics), R. Prag Gnanandhaa (chess). M. Shahrukh Khan (cricket). S. Nikhil (table tennis) and
T. Sathyriyan (volleyball).

This aspect  of the awards scheme of  TNSJA has also come in for praise from the sports fraternity just as the life time achievement honour that provides inspiration to these young stars as they can aspire to reach that level and work for it.

Fetching more content...