Does the US Open golf winner get to keep the trophy?

123rd U.S. Open Championship - Final Round
123rd U.S. Open Championship (Image via Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images)

The US Open winners are allowed to take the trophy home for a year. However, they must return the trophy the following year to be presented to the next winner.

Nonetheless, they can ask for a replica of the trophy, which is smaller than the trophy presented to the winner, to take home permanently. Moreover, winners are also awarded the Jack Nicklaus Gold Medal to keep forever.

The US Open is one of the oldest tournaments in the world. However, the trophy handed to the players is a replica of the original trophy, which was destroyed in a fire in 1946.

In 1946, Lloyd Mangrum placed the trophy in a clubhouse at Tam O'Shanter. Unfortunately, a fire destroyed it. The following year, the replica was presented to the Major winner.

The US Open trophy is an 18-inch trophy made by the Gorham Company. It has a diameter of six inches and weighs around 8.5 pounds. Its base displays the name of the United States Golf Association Open Championship and the winner’s name on the other side. Additionally, the trophy features Victoria, the goddess of victory, on its lid.

What are the perks of winning the US Open?

In addition to receiving the prestigious trophy of the US Open, winners of the Major are awarded numerous other perks. They get a 10-year exemption to compete in the Major.

Although this is the shortest exemption period among the four Majors, it still allows players the advantage of participating in the tournament for up to 10 years after their victory. On the other hand, the Masters and the PGA Championship provide a lifetime exemption, while The Open Championship allows winners to compete until the player turns 55.

Additionally, winners of the US Open earn a five-year exemption to compete on the PGA Tour and are allowed to play in all the other three Majors, including the Masters, The Open Championship, and the PGA Championship, for five years.

The FedEx Cup points for the Majors are also higher than those for regular tournaments and Signature events. However, only the PGA Tour player winning the US Open will earn 750 FedEx Cup points, and OWGR points are awarded to anyone winning the Major. A total of 100 OWGR points will be given to the Major winner.

Here are some of the winners of the US Open over the years:

  • 2023: Wyndham Clark
  • 2022: Matt Fitzpatrick
  • 2021: Jon Rahm
  • 2020: Bryson DeChambeau
  • 2019: Gary Woodland
  • 2018: Brooks Koepka
  • 2017: Brooks Koepka
  • 2016: Dustin Johnson
  • 2015; Jordan Spieth
  • 2014: Martin Kaymer
  • 2013: Justin Rose
  • 2012: Webb Simpson
  • 2011: Rory McIlroy
  • 2010: Graeme McDowell
  • 2009: Lucas Glover
  • 2008: Tiger Woods
  • 2007: Angel Cabrera
  • 2006: Geoff Ogilvy
  • 2005: Michael Campbell
  • 2004: Retief Goosen
  • 2003: Jim Furyk
  • 2002: Tiger Woods
  • 2001: Retief Goosen
  • 2000: Tiger Woods

The 2024 edition of the US Open will start tomorrow at the Pinehurst No. 2 Golf Course.

Quick Links

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee
App download animated image Get the free App now