Golfers Lahiri, Chawrasia, Bhullar in fray at CIMB Classic


Kuala Lumpur, Oct 17 (IANS) Reigning Asian Tour Order of Merit winner Anirban Lahiri, S.S.P. Chawrasia and Gaganjeet Bhullar will spearhead the Indian challenge at the $7 million CIMB Classic which starts here on Thursday.

The Asian Tour's Order of Merit leader Scott Hend of Australia and a strong line-up of young Asian Tour stars will also feature at the event at the TPC Kuala Lumpur.

Hend, a nine-time Asian Tour winner, will be joined by countryman Marcus Fraser, who won in Malaysia in February, and young guns Jeunghun Wang of South Korea, Soomin Lee and Miguel Tabuena of the Philippines and Chan Shih-chang of Chinese Taipei.

Tabuena, Wang, Lee, Lahiri, Bhullar and Song, who are still in their 20s, represent a new breed of young and talented Asian Tour stars searching for more glory at the CIMB Classic.

Another South Korean Younghan Song will make up the leading top 10- players on the Order of Merit.

Defending champion Justin Thomas will also feature in the CIMB Classic alongside Adam Scott of Australia, who finished second last year, Patrick Reed, Sergio Garcia of Spain and Asian Tour honorary members K.J. Choi of Korea and Vijay Singh of Fiji.

Malaysia will be represented by Gavin Green and Danny Chia.

The tournament will feature a total of 78 players including 60 coming from the PGA Tour along with the leading 10 players from the Asian Tour Order of Merit and eight sponsor's exemptions.



Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...