KPMG Women's PGA Championship: Schedule, venue, prize money and more

KPMG Women
Yin Ruoning at the 2023 KPMG Women's PGA Championship (via Getty images)

The second LPGA major of the season, the KPMG Women's PGA Championship, is starting this week. The tournament started in 1955 and is going to organize the 69th edition at the Sahalee Country Club. Previously, it was known as the LPGA Championship but in 2014, the PGA Tour became a partner and named it the KPMG Women's PGA Championship.

Last year, Yin Ruoning won the trophy and bagged $1.5 million. Throughout the four rounds, she secured 67, 73, 69, and 67 and finished at 8-under-276. The year before, In Gee Chun triumphed with 64, 69, 75, and 75.

2024 KPMG Women's PGA Championship venue

The event is scheduled to take place at the Sahalee Country Club. Sahalee Country Club hosted the first KPMG Women's PGA Championship in 2016. Last year, the event took place at Baltusrol Lower Course, and the year before, at Congressional Country Club. Here are some Monday snaps from Sahalee:

The course was mapped out by Ted Robinson. Following that, changes were made to the course by another architect in 1996 and 2022. The club also organized the World Golf Championship and the US Senior Open in 2002 and 2010.

2024 KPMG Women's PGA Championship schedule

The 2024 event will be a 4-day-strong game. It will start on June 20 and conclude on June 23. The match will feature a cut system after 36 holes. Here's the breakdown of the schedule:

Round 1

  • Date: June 20, 2024
  • Day: Thursday

Round 2

  • Date: June 21, 2024
  • Day: Friday

Round 3

  • Date: June 22, 2024
  • Day: Saturday

Round 4

  • Date: June 23, 2024
  • Day: Sunday

2024 KPMG Women's PGA Championship prize money

The event boasts a prize purse of $10 million, which is a rise of $1 million as compared to last year. Over the last five years, the purse soared by $6.15 million. Also, over the last ten years, the purse pumped up by $7.75 million. So, it's evident the 2024 winner will bank a heavier sum.

Winner's share of the KPMG Women's PGA Championship over the last ten years:

  • 2024: To be announced
  • 2023: Ruoning Yin: $1,500,000
  • 2022: Chun In-gee: $1,350,000
  • 2021: Nelly Korda: $675,000
  • 2020: Kim Sei-young: $645,000
  • 2019: Hannah Green: $577,500
  • 2018: Park Sung-hyun: $547,500
  • 2017: Danielle Kang: $525,000
  • 2016: Brooke Henderson, $525,000
  • 2015: Inbee Park: $525,000
  • 2014: Inbee Park: $337,500

The 2024 event has a star-studded field. It features the defending champion, Ruoning Yin. The field also includes Brooks Henderson, who won the 2016 Women's PGA Championship at Sahalee Country Club. Other notable names include Nelly Korda, Lexi Thompson, Rose Zhang, Lydia Ko, and more.

The live-action will be aired on Golf Channel over the first three days and on Peacock over the next four days. NBC will cover Saturday and Sunday.

Quick Links

Edited by Shirsh
App download animated image Get the free App now