11,400,000 viewers tune in to watch Bryson DeChambeau and Rory McIlroy as the 2024 US Open becomes the most watched of its kind in a decade

Bryson DeChambeau, Rory McIlroy at the 2024 US Open (All images via Getty)
Bryson DeChambeau, Rory McIlroy at the 2024 US Open (All images via Getty)

The 2024 US Open concluded one of the toughest tournaments of the year. Bryson DeChambeau managed to narrowly beat Rory McIlroy on the last hole. It followed a similar margin of victory to the previous Major, the PGA Championship (1 stroke), where DeChambeau finished solo second.

Needless to say, the Major proved to be quite entertaining for fans, and the viewing numbers tell the same story. The final round of the US Open garnered a total average of 5.9 million viewers over seven hours according to NBC, who broadcast the event.

During the final few holes of the event, over 11.4 million viewers tuned in to watch the battle between Bryson DeChambeau and Rory McIlroy for victory. This made the 2024 US Open the most watched of its kind since 2015 when Jordan Spieth won the Major. The 2024 US Open also secured its place as the most streamed NBC - Peacock event, with a 17% increase in audience.

The third Major of the year provided a thrilling four days at the Pinehurst Course #2. Many notable names failed to make the cut going into the weekend, including Max Homa and Rickie Fowler. Even the likes of Scottie Scheffler and Xander Schauffele struggled to make their mark on the course.

Ultimately, Bryson DeChambeau edged out Rory McIlroy during the final hole on the final day to claim his second US Open victory.

Final Leaderboard for the 2024 US Open explored

Here is the final leaderboard for the 2024 US Open:

  • 1 Bryson DeChambeau
  • 2 Rory McIlroy
  • T3. Tony Finau
  • T3. Patrick Cantlay
  • 5 Matthieu Pavon
  • 6 Hideki Matsuyama
  • T7. Russell Henley
  • T7. Xander Schauffele
  • T9. Sam Burns
  • T9. Davis Thompson
  • T9. Corey Conners
  • T12. Sergio Garcia
  • T12. Ludvig Åberg
  • T14. Thomas Detry
  • T14. Collin Morikawa
  • T16. Tommy Fleetwood
  • T16. Akshay Bhatia
  • T16. Taylor Pendrith
  • T19. Shane Lowry
  • T19. Aaron Rai
  • T21. Max Greyserman
  • T21. Daniel Berger
  • T21. Min Woo Lee
  • T21. Brian Harman
  • T21. Stephan Jaeger
  • T26. Brooks Koepka
  • T26. Neal Shipley (a)
  • T26. Chris Kirk
  • T26. Zac Blair
  • T26. Tom Kim
  • T26. Tyrrell Hatton
  • T32. Adam Scott
  • T32. Sahith Theegala
  • T32. Si Woo Kim
  • T32. Keegan Bradley
  • T32. J.T. Poston
  • T32. Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • T32. Cameron Smith
  • T32. Isaiah Salinda
  • T32. Denny McCarthy
  • T41. Harris English
  • T41. Jordan Spieth
  • T41. Frankie Capan III
  • T41. Tom McKibbin
  • T41. Scottie Scheffler
  • T41. Emiliano Grillo
  • T41. Tim Widing
  • T41. Luke Clanton (a)
  • T41. Billy Horschel
  • T50. Justin Lower
  • T50. Matt Kuchar
  • T50. Nicolai Højgaard
  • T50. Mark Hubbard
  • 54 Nico Echavarria
  • 55 David Puig
  • T56. S.H. Kim
  • T56. Ben Kohles
  • T56. Ryan Fox
  • T56. Greyson Sigg
  • T56. Sepp Straka
  • T56. Brian Campbell
  • T56. Adam Svensson
  • T56. Wyndham Clark
  • T64. Matt Fitzpatrick
  • T64. Francesco Molinari
  • T64. Martin Kaymer
  • T67. Cameron Young
  • T67. Brendon Todd
  • Dean Burmester
  • T70. Gunnar Broin (a)
  • T70. Brandon Wu
  • 72 Sam Bennett
  • 73 Jackson Suber
  • 74 Austin Eckroat

Bryson DeChambeau took home $4.3 million from the $21.5 million prize purse this year.

Quick Links

Edited by Prathik BR
App download animated image Get the free App now