2024 US Open winner to cash in record prize money in the Major Championship’s history

U.S. Open Preview Day
U.S Open trophy (Image via Getty).

The 2024 US Open, the third Major of the season, tees off this Thursday, June 13, at Pinehurst Resort, Course No. 2. The event marks several important milestones, including the largest winner's paycheck in history.

The winner of the 2024 U.S. Open will receive $4.3 million, an increase of more than $300,000 from what was initially reported. Last Monday, the United States Golf Association (USGA) reported that the purse for the event would be $20 million and the winner's share would be $3.91 million.

However, on Wednesday it was announced that the purse for the 2024 US Open was increased to $21.5 million, which brought the winner's share to the current figure. This is a record amount for Major championships.

Previously, the highest amount earned by the winner of the US Open had been $3.6 million (Wyndham Clark, 2023). With the Masters, the record prize for the winner has been $3.6 million (Scottie Scheffler, 2024), for the PGA Championship it is $3.33 million (Xander Schauffele, 2024) and for the Open it is $3 million (Brian Harman, 2023).

In addition, the winner's share of $4.3 million will be the highest prize of those expected for the current season in men's golf. Until now, that position was shared by the Players Championship, three of the PGA Tour's eight Signature Events, and all of LIV Golf's individual events, all with $4 million going to the winner.

The purse for the Open Championship, the fourth and final Major of the 2024 season, has not yet been announced.

Other notable moments of the 2024 US Open

The 2024 US Open is a very special event for the USGA, as it will be the 1,000th USGA staged championship in the organization's history. The USGA was founded in 1894 and currently organizes (among others) all U.S. Junior and Amateur Championships, as well as the Men's, Women's and Senior Open for men and women.

In addition, the USGA is responsible for establishing the rules of golf in conjunction with The R&A.

In the days leading up to the event, there have been several notable developments. The first of these was the exaltation to the World Golf Hall of Fame of the class of 2024. The inductees were led by three-time Major champion Padraig Harrington and two-time major champion Sandra Palmer.

Also inducted were the late Johnny Farrell (1928 US Open champion), Beverly Hanson (three-time major champion), and Tom Weiskopf (1973 Open champion).

The class of 2024 was rounded out by the seven LPGA Tour founders who had not yet been honored (Alice Bauer, Bettye Danoff, Helen Dettweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Sally Sessions and Shirley Spork).

The event also served to present Tiger Woods with the Bobby Jones Award. This is the highest award given by the USGA in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf.

Quick Links

Edited by Pritha Ghosh
App download animated image Get the free App now