Scottie Scheffler is the "best player in the world at the minute," states Rory McIlroy ahead of the 2024 US Open

U.S. Open - Preview Day Three
Scottie Scheffler, 2024 U.S. Open (Image via Getty)

Fresh off a win at the 2024 Memorial Tournament, Scottie Scheffler seeks to gain another Major title at this week's US Open set to be held from June 13 to 16. Scheffler enters the 156-player field as the most favored by fans and pundits alike to take home the winner's share of the $20 million prize purse.

Rory McIlroy, ranked third on the Official World Golf Rankings, is also favored to win this week. When asked by the Calgary Herald on what attribute of Scheffler impresses him the most, the Northern Irishman said:

"Undoubtedly the best player in the world at the minute by a long way. It’s up to us to try to get to his level. Look, a lot of stuff went on in his life, as well. They’ve just had a new child. He’s been through some struggles in his game, particularly the putter that he’s been able to turn around, as well."
"It’s not as if he hasn’t had his challenges along the way, or circumstances have been a little bit different for him. But yeah, I mean, the word that I describe it as is relentless," he added.

Xander Schauffele, winner of the 2024 PGA Championship, also spoke highly of Scheffler at his winner's press conference. Schauffele said (via the Calgary Herald):

"All of us are climbing this massive mountain. At the top of the mountain is Scottie Scheffler. I won this today, but I’m still not that close to Scottie Scheffler.”

Scottie Scheffler will look to win his sixth title of the season at the upcoming US Open.

2024 US Open Round 1 tee times ft. Scottie Scheffler, Xander Schauffele, and Rory McIlroy

The top three players on the Official World Golf Rankings, Scottie Scheffler, Xander Schauffele, and Rory McIlroy, are set to play the first and second rounds of the 2024 US Open together.

The group will tee off from the first hole of the Pinehurst No. 2 course at 1:14 PM EST for the first round on Thursday, June 13. On Friday, June 14, the trio will start from the tenth hole at 7:29 AM EST for the second round.

Here is the full time sheet for the first round of the 2024 US Open with all times mentioned in EST.

Tee 1

  • 6:45 AM: Michael McGowan, Carter Jenkins, Logan McAllister
  • 6:56 AM: Frederik Kjettrup, Chris Petefish, Parker Bell (a)
  • 7:07 AM: Omar Morales (a), Max Greyserman, Casey Jarvis
  • 7:18 AM: Corey Conners, Stephan Jaeger, Emiliano Grillo
  • 7:29 AM: Ryo Ishikawa, Francesco Molinari, Sergio Garcia
  • 7:40 AM: Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Brooks Koepka
  • 7:51 AM: Rickie Fowler, Adam Hadwin, Phil Mickelson
  • 8:02 AM: Min Woo Lee, Sahith Theegala, Nicolai Højgaard
  • 8:13 AM: Si Woo Kim, Matthieu Pavon, Sungjae Im
  • 8:24 AM: Nico Echavarria, Robert Rock, Neal Shipley (a)
  • 8:35 AM: Takumi Kanaya, Stewart Hagestad (a), Mac Meissner
  • 8:46 AM: Isaiah Salinda, Bryan Kim (a), Jim Herman
  • 8:57 AM: Carson Schaake, Charlie Reiter, Colin Prater (a)
  • 12:30 PM: Jason Scrivener, Brandon Robinson Thompson, Brendan Valdes (a)
  • 12:41 PM: Santiago De la Fuente (a), Sam Bairstow, Eugenio Chacarra
  • 12:52 PM: Kurt Kitayama, Taylor Moore, Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • 1:03 PM: Jason Day, Harris English, Tom Kim
  • 1:14 PM: Rory McIlroy, Xander Schauffele, Scottie Scheffler
  • 1:25 PM: Brian Harman, Nick Dunlap, Wyndham Clark
  • 1:36 PM: Hideki Matsuyama, Jon Rahm, Jordan Spieth
  • 1:47 PM: Shane Lowry, Keegan Bradley, Martin Kaymer
  • 1:58 PM: Akshay Bhatia, Eric Cole, Erik van Rooyen
  • 2:09 PM: Brendon Todd, Taylor Pendrith, Alex Noren
  • 2:20 PM: Thomas Detry, Brian Campbell, Jackson Buchanan (a)
  • 2:31 PM: Taisei Shimuzu, Gunnar Broin (a), Maxwell Moldovan
  • 2:42 PM: Sung Kang, Riki Kawamoto, John Chin

Tee 10

  • 6:45 AM: Rico Hoey, Tom McKibbin, Matteo Manassero
  • 6:56 AM: Dean Burmester, Rikuya Hoshino, Seamus Power
  • 7:07 AM: S.H. Kim, Justin Lower, Tim Widing
  • 7:18 AM: Lucas Glover, Sam Burns, Cameron Smith
  • 7:29 AM: Will Zalatoris, Matt Fitzpatrick, Tiger Woods
  • 7:40 AM: Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar, Russell Henley
  • 7:51 AM: Tony Finau, Ludvig Åberg, Dustin Johnson
  • 8:02 AM: Justin Rose, Gary Woodland, Webb Simpson
  • 8:13 AM: Daniel Berger, Ryan Fox, David Puig
  • 8:24 AM: Byeong Hun An, Sam Bennett, Edoardo Molinari
  • 8:35 AM: Austin Eckroat, Adrian Meronk, Cam Davis
  • 8:46 AM: Aaron Rai, Davis Thompson, Zac Blair
  • 8:57 AM: Willie Mack III, Richard Mansell, Ashton McCulloch (a)
  • 12:30 PM: Greyson Sigg, Grant Forrest, Wells Williams (a)
  • 12:41 PM: Chesson Hadley, Mark Hubbard, Adam Svensson
  • 12:52 PM: Beau Hossler, Victor Perez, Adam Schenk
  • 1:03 PM: Robert MacIntyre, Nick Taylor, Mackenzie Hughes
  • 1:14 PM: Tyrrell Hatton, Tommy Fleetwood, Tom Hoge
  • 1:25 PM: Bryson DeChambeau, Viktor Hovland, Max Homa
  • 1:36 PM: Sepp Straka, Peter Malnati, J.T. Poston
  • 1:47 PM: Gordon Sargent (a), Jake Knapp, Cameron Young
  • 1:58 PM: Chris Kirk, Billy Horschel, Adam Scott
  • 2:09 PM: Ben Kohles, Denny McCarthy, Benjamin James (a)
  • 2:20 PM: Frankie Capan III, Andrew Svoboda, Luke Clanton (a)
  • 2:31 PM: Harry Higgs, Hiroshi Tai (a), Brandon Wu
  • 2:42 PM: Joey Vrzich, Chris Naegel, Otto Black

Quick Links

Edited by Prathik BR
App download animated image Get the free App now