Scottie Scheffler and Viktor Hovland headline 2024 Charles Schwab Challenge field

2024 Charles Schwab Challenge field
2024 Charles Schwab Challenge field (Image via Getty)

After the ongoing PGA Championship outing, the PGA Tour will head to Texas for the 2024 Charles Schwab Challenge. The event will be held at Colonial Country Club from Thursday, May 23 to Sunday, May 26. The 78th edition of the competition will be headlined by World No. 1 and Masters champion Scottie Scheffler.

Scheffler will compete at the Charles Schwab Challenge in Fort Worth next week. However, an official re-confirmation from the North Texas resident’s side is awaited as the golfer was involved in a scuffle with the police earlier this week. As of now, the 27-year-old is confirmed for the event’s 133-player field.

The ace golfer will be joined by the likes of World No. 7 Viktor Hovland. The Norwegian will be the second-highest-ranked player on the field. Notably, Charles Schwab Challenge’s reigning champion Emiliano Grillo will also return to defend his title next week.

Max Homa, Brian Harman, Collin Morikawa, Rickie Fowler, Tom Kim, and Tony Finau will be among other big names competing next weekend. Notably, Jordan Spieth will join nine other former champions at the event. The golfers will compete for the top prize of $1.56 million from the event’s $9.1 million purse.

Apart from the paycheck, the Charles Schwab Challenge champion will also receive the restored 1975 Schwab Stingray and some valuable FedExCup points.

2024 Charles Schwab Challenge field

Listed below is the complete field for the PGA Tour's 2024 Charles Schwab Challenge along with the players’ eligibility criteria:

Former Winners:

  • Daniel Berger
  • Olin Browne
  • Emiliano Grillo
  • Chris Kirk
  • Justin Rose
  • Adam Scott
  • Jordan Spieth

THE PLAYERS Championship (five-year exemption):

  • Scottie Scheffler

U.S. Open (five-year exemption):

  • Gary Woodland

PGA Championship (five-year exemption):

  • Collin Morikawa

The Open Championship (five-year exemption):

  • Brian Harman

FedExCup Champion (five-year exemption):

  • Viktor Hovland

Winner of the Memorial Tournament (three-year exemption):

  • Billy Horschel

PGA TOUR tournament winners (two-year exemption):

  • Akshay Bhatia
  • Keegan Bradley
  • Nick Dunlap
  • Austin Eckroat
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Lucas Glover
  • Chris Gotterup
  • Lee Hodges
  • Stephan Jaeger
  • Tom Kim
  • Luke List
  • Peter Malnati
  • Grayson Murray
  • Vincent Norrman
  • Sepp Straka
  • Camilo Villegas

Member of most recent U.S. Ryder Cup team:

  • Max Homa

Member of most recent European Ryder Cup team:

  • Nicolai Højgaard
  • Robert MacIntyre

Member of most recent U.S. Presidents Cup team:

  • Tony Finau
  • Kevin Kisner

Member of most recent International Presidents Cup team:

  • Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • Cam Davis
  • Sungjae Im
  • Si Woo Kim
  • K.H. Lee

Players selected by winners of Charles Schwab Challenge:

  • Parker Coody
  • Max Greyserman

Top 15 and ties from previous year's Charles Schwab Challenge:

  • Adam Schenk
  • Harry Hall
  • Paul Haley II
  • Michael Kim
  • Mark Hubbard
  • Kevin Streelman
  • Harris English
  • Chad Ramey
  • Aaron Rai

Sponsor's exemption (DP World Tour/Korn Ferry Tour/Q-School):

  • Pierceson Coody
  • Hayden Springer

Sponsor's exemption (unrestricted):

  • Michael Block
  • Zach Johnson
  • Mac Meissner
  • Webb Simpson

Sponsor's exemption (members not otherwise exempt):

  • Ryan Palmer
  • Rory Sabbatini
  • Austin Smotherman
  • Brandt Snedeker
  • Jimmy Walker
  • Tom Whitney

Top 50 in Official World Golf Ranking:

  • Denny McCarthy
  • Min Woo Lee
  • Eric Cole
  • J.T. Poston

Top 125 on prior year's FedExCup points list:

  • Taylor Moore
  • Andrew Putnam
  • Adam Svensson
  • Tom Hoge
  • Brendon Todd
  • Patrick Rodgers
  • Beau Hossler
  • Ben Griffin
  • Matt Kuchar
  • Nick Hardy
  • J.J. Spaun
  • Sam Ryder
  • Alex Smalley
  • Thomas Detry
  • Brandon Wu
  • Davis Riley
  • S.H. Kim
  • Keith Mitchell
  • Hayden Buckley
  • Matt NeSmith
  • Justin Suh
  • Sam Stevens
  • Davis Thompson
  • Joel Dahmen
  • Tyler Duncan
  • Ben Taylor
  • Garrick Higgo
  • Robby Shelton
  • Callum Tarren
  • Dylan Wu
  • Nate Lashley
  • Greyson Sigg
  • David Lipsky
  • Justin Lower
  • Carson Young
  • Tyson Alexander
  • Chesson Hadley
  • Zac Blair
  • Joseph Bramlett
  • Kevin Yu
  • Chez Reavie
  • Martin Laird
  • Ben Martin
  • Ryan Moore
  • Nico Echavarria
  • Matti Schmid
  • Andrew Novak
  • Doug Ghim
  • Troy Merritt
  • Carl Yuan

Major medical extension:

  • Maverick McNealy
  • C.T. Pan

Below 10th from year-to-date FedExCup points list:

  • Charley Hoffman
  • Ben Kohles
  • Sami Valimaki
  • Chan Kim
  • Chandler Phillips
  • David Skinns
  • Erik Barnes
  • Kevin Tway
  • Ryo Hisatsune
  • Jimmy Stanger
  • Alejandro Tosti
  • Martin Trainer
  • Victor Perez
  • Ben Silverman
  • Rafael Campos

More details on the 2024 Charles Schwab Challenge, including schedule and tee times, will be updated soon.

Bryson DeChambeau lost crucial book at US Open! Was it superstition? Read here.

Quick Links

App download animated image Get the free App now