“Not a fan of the rule”, “With that slope, it’s a ridiculous rule” – Fans sound off on US Open ruling handed to Neal Shipley despite the amateur accepting the penalty

Neal Shipley
Neal Shipley (Image via Getty) (Fan reactions from x.com/NUCLRGOLF)

Fans on social media reacted to amateur golfer Neal Shipley's penalty during the third round of the 2024 US Open on Saturday, June 15. The young golfer has made the cut after 36 holes at the Major being played at the Pinehurst No. 2 Golf Course in North Carolina. He shot fairly well but received a penalty for allegedly moving the ball.

Shipley was preparing to take a swing and placed his club behind the ball on the par-4 13th hole. The ball allegedly moved before he could take the shot. Shipley alerted the rules officials, who examined the situation on camera and gave him a one-shot penalty under Rule 9.4.

Nuclear Golf uploaded a video of Shipley's shot on its X account, asking,

"Neal Shipley got a penalty stroke for setting his club behind the ball & it moving (allegedly). Are you a fan of this rule?"

Fans in the comments section expressed dissatisfaction with the rule while appreciating Shipley's integrity.

"Not a fan of the rule, Neil Shipley has integrity and has earned respect," a fan wrote.
"With that slope it’s a ridiculous rule," another commented.
"I hate that rule. But I love me some awkward Neil Shipley. He grew up and went to school 15 minutes from me. Pulling for him and praying we get another awkward interview! 😆Kids clutch," one fan jotted down.

Another expressed disappointment with amateur players receiving penalties at the Major.

"It’s the rule but I find it amazing that the penalty’s usually issued in the majors are to amateur players and the pros don’t get it called on them," they wrote.

Here are a few more reactions to Neal Shipley's shot:

Fans' reactions (Image via X/@NUCLRGOLF)
Fans' reactions (Image via X/@NUCLRGOLF)

Notably, Neal Shipley is not the only one embroiled in controversy at the 2024 US Open. Fans have accused defending champion Wyndham Clark of cheating during the game.

On Saturday, Clark took a shot but the ball rolled back to near its original spot, where he proceeded to patch the green and seemed to remove an object from the ground. Fans allege that he removed the object to improve his lie. However, officials have not commented on this shot by Clark.


"It's a tough one to swallow" - Neal Shipley after receiving penalty at the 2024 US Open

Following his round, Neal Shipley spoke about the penalty and stated that he did not believe his club caused the ball to move. He was disappointed with the ruling but said he looks forward to the final round (via Golf Digest):

"Making the assumption that my club was what caused it to move is a fair assessment. Honestly, I don't think I caused it to move, but it doesn't really matter what I think. It's a tough one to swallow, but that's golf. You have to move on."

The final round of he 2024 US Open will be played on Sunday, June 16. Despite the penalty, Neal Shipley has jumped 12 positions on the leaderboard to tie for 25th place. He started the third round with a bogey on the first hole and carded another on the front nine. He shot a total of five birdies, four bogeys and a double bogey to score +1, settling for 4 over par.

Quick Links

Edited by Aayush Kapoor
App download animated image Get the free App now