AIFF Elite Academy crowned U19 I-League Champions 2014-15

U19 I-League Champions

Pune, India: AIFF Elite Academy were crowned the champions of the Under 19 I-League 2014-15 after their 2-0 victory over United SC at the DSK Dream City Football Fields earlier today. The Academy team lead the table from the conclusion of Matchday 1, winning six matches and drawing one throughout the tournament.

Striker Milan Basumatary was a bright light for AIFF Elite Academy throughout the tournament, as he scored more than five times.

Their match against United SC had little riding on it, as effectively, they had the tournament won on goal difference while going into the match. Both the teams started the match nervously and took some time to hit their stride and string their passes together.

First half goals from Mohammad Sajid Dhot and Milan Basumatary provided them with a valuable lead against United SC going into half time.

Meanwhile, in the last match of the Under 19 I-League, Chanmari FC scraped past DSK Shivajians to end their tournament with a 2-1 victory.

Rohit Kumar started the scoring for the home team in the 9th minute when the ball from corner fell to his feet after deflection from Vanlalremkima. He made no mistake in blasting the ball at the back of the net.

Chanmari FC struck back instantly through a goal marred by confusion. The referee changed his decision from an offside and gave the goal. Both the teams were stuck in a midfield battle for the rest of the half.

In the 58th minute, Vanlalremkima of DSK Shivajians was shown a straight red for handling the ball inside the box, which resulted in a penalty for Chanmari. After saving the initial effort, Nat was unable to block the rebound from Jesse Laldinpuia in the 60th minute.

After the match, presentation ceremony was held at the DSK Dream City Football Fields, which saw Mr. Stephen Constantine (Head Coach, Senior Indian National Football Team), Mr. Sunando Dhar (CEO, I-League) and Mr. Shirish Kulkarni (Director, DSK Shivajians) felicitate the winners.

Score Sheet: United SC 0-2 AIFF Elite Academy

Scorers for AIFF Elite Academy: Mohd. Sajid Dhot (28 mins), Milan Basumatary(45+2)

Score Sheet: DSK Shivajians 1-2 Chanmari FC

Scorers for DSK Shivajians: Rohit Kumar (9 mins)

Scorers for Chanmari FC: Ram Ngachawma (20 mins), Jesse Laldinpuia (60 mins)

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment