The U-15 Coca-Cola Cup: Bengal down Jharkhand, Mizoram beat Meghalaya in zonal finals

West Bengal, Mizoram, Jharkhand, Meghalaya, Chandigarh and Haryana are the six teams so far to have qualified for the Final Round of the Sub-Junior CocaCola Cup.First-half goals from Arnab Negi and Abhijit Mondal in the 18th and 36th minute respectively helped West Bengal – who qualified from East Zone Group B with maximum points – down gritty Jharkhand who until the final match had plundered no less than 19 goals in two matches. According to the rules, Jharkhand also qualified for the final round as the second team from East Zone.Mizoram on the other hand rode on a second-half brace from Jerry Laldinpuia either side of a strike from Larry Lalrinalawma to beat Meghalaya by three goals and make the cut. Meghalaya similarly qualified as the second team.In the North Zone, Chandigarh and Haryana will fight it out for the Zonal finals, with both teams booking their places in the final round.

(Report & Photo courtesy AIFF Media. Initially published at :

Quick Links