Favorites Edit

BWF Awards Gala Night Ceremony 2017 Live updates: PV Sindhu, Srikanth Kidambi and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy in the fray

Three Indian shuttlers are in line to receive the prestigious BWF Awards.
Updated: 11 December 2017 22:58 IST - Published: 11 December 2017 22:03 IST
That's all from Sportskeeda's coverage of the BWF Awards Gala Night from Dubai. Stay tuned for all sporting updates from around the world.
This brings an end to the awards ceremony as the players are set to contest in two days' time at the Dubai World Super Series Finals at the Hamdan Sports Complex in Dubai.
Unfortunately, the Indian shuttlers miss out on the honors at the BWF Awards Gala Night in Dubai. 
Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, the World No.1 Men's Doubles pairing has won 2017 BWF Male Players of the Year Award.
The final award of the night will be the men's category as Kidambi Srikanth is in the running for the honor.
Unfortunately, not. Chen Qingchen, World No.1 Women's and Mixed Doubles Player has won 2017 BWF Female Player of the Year Award.
The next award to be announced will be the Female Player of the Year. Can P.V. Sindhu repeat her feat and win it two times in a row?
And we have it...World No.10 19-year old Chinese shuttler Chen Yufei has won 2017 Eddy Choong Most Promising Player of the Year Award.
Up next, the award for the Most Promising Player of the Year will be announced.
And there we have it...Yuki Fukushima and Sayala Hirota have jointly won 2017 BWF Most Improved Players of The Year Award.
And the first award of the night will now be announced - Most Improved Player of the Year.
As we wait for the awards announcement, here is a look at the nominations for the awards this year:

Male Player of the Year 
Zheng Siwei (China) 
Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) 
Srikanth Kidambi (India) 
Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesia) 

Female Player of the Year 
Chen Qingchen (China) 
Huang Yaqiong (China) 
Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei) 
PV Sindhu (India) Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)
 Lee So Hee (Korea) 

Most Promising Player of the Year 
Chen Yufei (China) 
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (India) 
Apriyani Rahayu (Indonesia) 
Gregoria Mariska Tunjung (Indonesia) 
Lee Zii Jia (Malaysia)
The awards ceremony is about to begin as we bring all the latest updates from the Gala Night in Dubai.
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, along with his partner Chirag Shetty won the Vietnam International and reached the quarter-finals in two Super Series events.
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, 17-year old Indian doubles sensation is in the running for the BWF Most Promising Player of the Year for his rise into the top 30 of the Men’s Doubles World rankings.
Srikanth Kidambi who has had a phenomenal year and risen to World No.4 thanks to four Super Series titles will be in contention for the Player of the Year award against World Champion Viktor Axelsen, the World No.1 Men’s Doubles pair of Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, and the top-ranked mixed doubles player, Zheng Siwei.
This year, the 22-year-old Indian, who won two Superseries titles and grabbed the silver medal at the BWF World Championships, will be contending for the Female Player of the Year with the likes of the World No. 1 Tai Tzu Ying.
Last year, P.V.Sindhu was conferred this award following her silver medal at the Rio Olympic and her maiden Superseries title win at the China Open.
Srikanth Kidambi and PV Sindhu are in contention for the ‘Player of the Year 2017’ awards while the 17-year-old doubles sensation, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy will be vying for the ‘Most Promising Player of the Year’ award.
Indian shuttlers make their presence felt in all categories as Kidambi Srikanth, P.V. Sindhu and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy have all been nominated in the three major categories.
The fourth award, i.e the Most Improved Player of the Year does not have nominations.
BWF Most Promising Player of the Year 

1.Chen Yufei (China) 
2.Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (India) 
3.Apriyani Rahayu (Indonesia) 
4.Gregoria Mariska Tunjung (Indonesia) 
5.Lee Zii Jia (Malaysia)
BWF Female Player of the Year 

1.Chen Qingchen (China) 
2.Huang Yaqiong (China) 
3.Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei) 
4.PV Sindhu (India) 
5.Akane Yamaguchi (Japan) 
6.Lee So Hee (Korea)
BWF Male Player of the Year:

1.Zheng Siwei (China) 
2.Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) 
3.Srikanth Kidambi (India) 
4.Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesia)
Let's take a look at the nominations in all categories of awards to be conferred tonight.
LIVE CHAT online